PDA

View Full Version : Idea about modem and the internet service


tupacy
05-27-2005, 11:25 AM
Hello forum,

Maybe I am dreaming but I am thinking very much about this:

Vodafone Spain is providing email and web navigation at plain tarif of 25 per month which is what I have... I use BWC for email.

I can navigate as much as I want with no extra cost with the BB browser... but when I try to configure SSH or Verichat and I add TCP connection with

APN: airtelnet.es
L: wap@<hidden>
P: wap125

I get billed for the tarif of GPRS which is not really cheap.

So as I have web, and email I was thinking if it's possible to connect the blackberry as a modem and then get web free on the notebook (using the settings of the service book or whatever has to be done).

Does it makes sense to you experts?

Regards,

Dawg
05-27-2005, 11:53 AM
been discussed in the thread using balckberry as a modem check it out pretty useful info

tupacy
05-27-2005, 11:58 AM
Thanks Dawg, but I've been checking it and I find how to do it as GPRS but not throgh the Internet Service of the BB. Correct me if I'm wrong please.-

Dawg
05-27-2005, 12:07 PM
Check out this thread
http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=2019&highlight=blackberry+modem

tupacy
05-27-2005, 12:20 PM
Thank you for the information Dawg, I did that already and configured the modem and now I am trying to connect.

The point that I meant is that I can navigate throught the web via BlackBerry with no charge, I guess cause it uses different APN for the BLACKBERRY connection, but when I configure the modem to use the APN for Vodafone mentioned in other FAQ:

APN: airtelnet.es
L: wap@<hidden>
P: wap125

Then I get billed for that traffic.

Isn't there any way to navigate from my laptop over the web as if I were using the BlackBerry browser and then not to be billed for it?

tupacy
05-28-2005, 07:47 AM
Update:

Well after many tries I passed from "not able to connect" 784 error If i don't remember bad, to connected to the network.

I used other APN different from the VODAFONE ES default GPRS APN. I used blackberry.net APN.... I can't browse anything by now, but I generate traffic pinging the ip i get and so on and I don't get billed for that traffic as when I use the airtelnet.es APN. This means that I am going on the good way.

Now I have to make the browser to work and I don't know where to start from... I've tried putting DNS servers found in this forum etc... as well I think I may need a proxy configuration on my browser...

Please let me know if you have any advice!

Best regards!

tupacy
05-29-2005, 07:37 AM
I confirm that I connect succesfully with a 7100V with blackberry.net APN, but can navigate with it. I guess something to do with DNS or other network config...

Does anybody have a suggestion?