PDA

View Full Version : How to Tell Blackberry OS version?

urbanmojo
08-29-2007, 04:44 AM
Hi:

I'm a newbie and getting confused with terms "Dekstop Manager" "Desktop Software", "Handheld OS", "Device Manager" and "Device Software"

I have a 7100T and want to know what version of the phone's OS I have. In the phone's "about" screen, it shows "Wireless Handheld" 4.0.2.49, which is the same as the "Device Software" version shown in "Desktop Manager" on my PC. However, in the "Desktop Manager" is shows me that my "Blackberry Device Manager" is version 4.2.2.10.

So:
1. Which OS do I have on my phone?
2. Can I/how do I upgrade the OS to 4.2 if I only have 4.0. I ask specifically because some applications only work with 4.2 or 4.1 and higher.

Thanks!

Dawg
08-29-2007, 05:23 AM
Hi:

I'm a newbie and getting confused with terms "Dekstop Manager" "Desktop Software", "Handheld OS", "Device Manager" and "Device Software"

I have a 7100T and want to know what version of the phone's OS I have. In the phone's "about" screen, it shows "Wireless Handheld" 4.0.2.49 this is the OS, which is the same as the "Device Software" version shown in "Desktop Manager" on my PC. However, in the "Desktop Manager" is shows me that my "Blackberry Device Manager" is version 4.2.2.10.

So:
1. Which OS do I have on my phone?
2. Can I/how do I upgrade the OS to 4.2 if I only have 4.0. I ask specifically because some applications only work with 4.2 or 4.1 and higher.

Thanks!
BlackBerry Operating System Downloads - BlackBerryFAQ (http://blackberryfaq.com/index.php/BlackBerry_Operating_System_Downloads)

follow the link and down load the newest software very simple your software is way out dated.

urbanmojo
08-29-2007, 05:39 AM
Thanks for the reply.