PDA

View Full Version : Still so confused!

Cyndigo
05-30-2005, 12:52 PM
I hate to be a stupid newbie but apparently it's my day. I did search in the forums but still need help.

Here's my situation: I'm a travel journalist who spends a good deal of time outside the U.S. What I've done in the past is carry an unlocked tri-band phone and buy a local SIM in each country I visit. This works VERY well for phone service, but I've had to rely on internet cafes for email.

I don't care about "push mail," as long as I can download my own (me@<hidden>) email when I want to. I would like to buy a device that will allow me to use local SIMs for voice and access to mydomain.com email. Browsing google and Mapquest would be nice, too. Friends have recommended Blackberry but they use theirs in the US only. Will an unlocked Blackberry suit my needs? I'm getting quite desperate and want to make a purchase soon.

Thanks,
Cyn

NJBlackBerry
05-30-2005, 12:56 PM
In order to do any web browsing, Internet or E-mail, you must have a BlackBerry Data Plan associated with the SIM card. It is very difficult (read: impossible) to get local SIM cards in other countries (generally pay as you go) with BlackBerry service.

If you do not care about push e-mail, I'd suggest you look at something other than a BlackBerry, like a Treo or an iPaq. The BlackBerry will not suit you at all....

Just my .02

Cyndigo
05-30-2005, 01:07 PM
Thank you! That's just the sort of information I was looking for. I would love to have a Blackberry ... they sound wonderful ... but I really need that portability when I'm traveling.

southwestcomm
05-30-2005, 01:15 PM
Any Treo or iPaq on GSM will have the save cost of operation as a Blackberry outside the US and require pay as you go for data as well.

Cyndigo
05-30-2005, 01:24 PM
Yes but my understanding is that I cannot use the Blackberry for data AT ALL internationally, with a local prepaid SIM?

NJBlackBerry
05-30-2005, 01:46 PM