PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu 7.10

LunkHead
09-07-2007, 08:19 AM
For all you Ubuntu fans out there I would highly recommend upgrading to 7.10.... It's still Alpha but is amazingly rock solid and a huge improvement over previous versions! I am mucho impressed with this version!

rivviepop
09-07-2007, 12:23 PM
I read they're going to be rolling in the new "open" AMD/ATI drivers into this one, Mark Shuttleworth released some official blurb about being really pleased with AMD and wants to support their efforts. As an ATI owner/user I can only clap in support. :)

EDIT: news blurb link:
[Phoronix] Mark Shuttleworth Talks On ATI's New Linux Drivers (http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=827&num=1)

EDIT 2: ok I got that wrong, he *wanted* to get it into 7.10 but technicalities are holding it back, it's going in the 8.0 something.

Spamdumpster
09-07-2007, 12:27 PM
I'm a Linux newbie - just loaded 7.04 on an old lap top on Wednesday night. How does one upgrade to 7.10? Do you have to reinstall the OS, or is there an upgrade patch that can be downloaded?

LunkHead
09-07-2007, 12:48 PM
It not avail yet for the upgrade... Once it is you can do it in several different ways... If you want it now you will need to download the beta version iso and burn it to disk....

You might want to wait a month until the official release is out if you are new to linux though...

Spamdumpster
09-07-2007, 01:05 PM
While we're on the topic of Ubuntu, have you any success in getting itunes to run in Ubuntu? I use itunes for airtunes, and there's really no other alternative. I installed Wine last night and tried to install itunes 4.6 and 4.7 (I had read that these might work), but I've had no success. Any suggestions?

LunkHead
09-07-2007, 01:21 PM
iTunes using Wine is very crippled and very buggy. That's if it even loads or works....

Use a native Linux program like one of these.....: