PDA

View Full Version : HELP! New user issues, about to dump the device!

laurajgp
06-04-2005, 09:33 PM
I just got my 7100g, I am not a expert at these things but I am usually pretty competent in figuring them out. I am very frustrated at having to jump through a million hoops to get additional ringtones downloaded, not to mention my provider does not even offer any support/downloads for my device. And, when I find sites that offer ringtones, my BB (or ANY BB) are not offered as device options. Is this thing that complicated or am I just missing something major here? Any help would be most appreciated.

NJBlackBerry
06-04-2005, 10:58 PM
If your biggest concerns are downloading ringtones, then perhaps you should dump the device and get a nice phone.

The 7100t is a decent phone, with excellent push e-mail capabilities. You can download ringtones by pointing your browser to the web site, clicking the wheel and selecting the tone. It isn't that bad. There are many, many threads, inclouding some sticky threads, on downloading ringtones for the 7100. But if that is your primary concern, you may well have the wrong device.

tru2life
06-05-2005, 12:02 AM
Yea, eat your loses and get rid of it. If downloading ringtones is a frustration and a primary concern, the BB probably isn't the phone for you.

laurajgp
06-05-2005, 09:40 AM
While I appreciate the advice, I am not quite that basic in new technology. You have to understand, downloading a ringtone was just one of the first things I tried to DO with the device. I am well aware of its capabilities and it seems that everywhere I turn for basic instruction is a dead end. My browser jams the device each time I try to launch it, the email configuration is a mess and neither cingular nor blackberry seem to have comprehensive tech support for it. Its almost as if it is a mystery device. I realize it is new, but come on. No, I don't care so much about the ringtone but if I can't get that to work.....

animlmed
06-05-2005, 11:07 AM