PDA

View Full Version : RIMs Main Servers

rcabls
10-03-2007, 12:32 PM
I'm new to this and was curious as to where the main servers are located. I understand RIM has servers in Canada and Great Britain, but how many exactly? I know all data traffic passes through one of these servers, but what are they called and is that their only function? What about Asian customers? Do they pass through these servers as well? I have been trying to find out more information on these servers but can't seem to come up with anything informative. Can anyone here help me out?

CanuckBB
10-04-2007, 02:08 AM
All BB data goes through RIM's infrastructure. The main datacentre is believed to be located in RIM's headquarters in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada.

Any other information is a very closely guarded secret for obvious reasons.

Why are you asking?

BBAdmin
10-04-2007, 04:53 AM
Closely guarded..........there's one in North America, one is Europe (which is in the UK) and one in Asia Pacific. I believe they are now breaking these three down to cover sub territories as well. For example, I believe there are now two relays that cover Europe. Can't be that closely guarded, I've had a tour of the UK one!!!!

rcabls
10-04-2007, 08:34 AM
I am curious because as a customer I want to have an idea of how my information is routed and who has access to it. In the US my provider controls the traffic and I wouldn't want a competitor to have access to the data. Can I be sure to trust Canada? More important, after their network went down a year or so ago, I'm curious as to how they can guarantee service with what seems like a bottle-neck infrastructure. If the Canada servers go down again as they did a year or so ago, what is their backup plan?