PDA

View Full Version : 7100T and Cingular service! help :)

turkeypig
06-08-2005, 05:00 PM
OK...so I have searched and cannot figure this out on my own. I am new to the blackberry thing and maybe should have gone with a treo because of the price of blackberry service. :(

Here is my problem. I want to be able to access my email account on my blackberry, but do not want to pay $39.99 a month for it when cingular offers data connect for $19.99 a month! Is there a way to use the blackberry to check email without using the blackberry service? By just using the same means as a treo or other pda phone???

Any help would be GREAT!!! :)

turkeypig
06-08-2005, 10:47 PM
ANYONE??? Is it possble to use a data plan with a Blackberry?

spdrcr5
06-08-2005, 10:58 PM
Blackberry = Data plan... without a data plan you can't get your email.

It makes no difference what hardware you purchase if you want to use a BlackBerry device then you have to pay for the data plan service. A Treo uses a data plan aka BlackBerry...

NJBlackBerry
06-09-2005, 05:53 AM
If you want to check your e-mail, or browse the Internet, you will need a BlackBerry Data Plan. There are no alternatives. And you are not getting push e-mail with the Treo.

netPOSER
06-09-2005, 09:05 AM
If you want to check your e-mail, or browse the Internet, you will need a BlackBerry Data Plan. There are no alternatives. And you are not getting push e-mail with the Treo.

I just switched from a Cingular Treo 650 with unlimited data to a 7100g.

All I did was take the SIM card out of the Treo and place it into the 7100g. The phone worked with no problem but the data did not.

I called Cingular and they needed my SIM card info and the IMEI number. According to Cingular, data is data regardless of the device. I did not have to change my plan at all.