11-08-2007, 07:15 PM
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
Join Date: Feb 2007
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BlackBerry's recognise deleted emails by it being moved into the Deleted items folder. If a email is hard deleted or deleted normally but the deleted items folder is emptied right away, the email wont be deleted on the device.
You can turn on Hard deleted via the BES, it will then class any mail that it has 'lost track of' as deleted and also delete it on the device. This function in False by default for obvious reasons.
There is also a work around that some users prefer. They achive the result by deleting the mail, then moving a copy of it over to the Archive.
One note to consider. I have seen one archiving program that left a trace of the email in the database, thus rendering hard delete useless also, cant remember what it was called though.