BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2007, 07:19 PM   #21 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Please Login to Remove!

We have a company that hosts our Exchange 2007 server w/sp1 and a BEZ Latest version.

We are migrating users from a Bynari/Squirrle system to Exchange/OWA with BB's

The issue we have run into is activating the users BB via wireless. We have successfully activated about 50 so far then ran into this problem where the activation on the BB just hangs, it will get the arrows showing it is trying to send/receive but thats it, just hangs. Then a couple did actually activate then at about 40% it would stop. I canceled the activation on the bez and the users stated she was getting emails but no contact ect where syncing.

Any ideas? as you can imagine these are our sales team that are having the issues so it is very important to get them activated asap. any advice would help. I did call our host and let them know they needed to figure this out but I still cant let it be. I need to get these people off my neck ASAP!! kwim?

Tried restarting services/server t ripple checked settings...

Thanks in advance for your help. p.s. I do have access to both exchange and bez.

Rich

Last edited by rcom9 : 12-12-2007 at 07:21 PM. Reason: extra info
Offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 09:35 PM   #22 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

rcom9 - Welcome to the forums!

You should let the activation continue until it either finishes successfully or presents you with an error. How long did it hang for? What did it hang on?

Does this company also manage your Exchange / BES environment, or just host it?

FYI, its BES, an acronym for BlackBerry Enterprise Server.
Offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 02:20 AM   #23 (permalink)
New Member
 
Captclam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool Stopping during activation...

We had the same problem. Turned out to be a defective unit actually. We had other units that had similar problems. When they were Verizon Units (like the 8830) we re-burned their flash with the downloaded update from Verizon and that fixed them.

We have had big problems with the Curve units on Centennial Wireless... they really have a tough time provisioning the devices on their end. However, they are a regional carrier here in Indiana only I think, so that probably doesn't help.

You can go into the sync setup for the user and disable the sync steps one at a time to see where they are getting frozen. We had one guy whose device simply could not pass them memo sync phase. We disabled it, he sync'd everything else find, but went on days later to have problem deleting messages he had in his inbox (from test messages)- no way to delete them. Weird stuff.

The logs generally tell the best story...

C:\Program Files (x86)\Research In Motion\BlackBerry Enterprise Server\Logs

The log with the really good stuff in it is the
Servername_MAGT_01_date_0001.txt
file.

This baby is loaded with goodies. If a device is provisioned incorrectly, you will see the no PIN returned code, etc.

Piece...
__________________
__________________________________________
Never play Leap Frog with a Unicorn...
Offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 02:55 AM   #24 (permalink)
New Member
 
Captclam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face BES 4.14.15 (sp4mr3) and 2007 on same server- no problem.

We are doing it just fine. One major got cha' is auto updates tries to install the 1.1 framework SP1 for 32bit windows for some darn reason. That killed us for a while.

Other than that, after the SP4 (Mister3) release everything began humming fantastically and has for a couple of months.

I am wondering if when you got SP1 for 2007 and BES 4.14.15 running together if they were on the same box?

I just potentially bombed my server by doing the mandatory .net 2 sp1 install on it, and for kicks threw the .net 3 sp on it as well. I figured if I was going to break it, do it right!

Hopefully that will come back up in a few minutes and be working, but like a bonehead I am going home and planning to test from there.... at a safe 35 mile distance so I can then drive back if it bombs!

Going to hold off till this weekend to mirror the server and install the 2007 SP1, but would love to know if any of you have them working together. I have it running on a pretty beefy VMware ESX 3.(whatever's newest).. Probably not a factor.

Ok, the reboot went fine, however the install test kept failing due to the Backup Exec agent... so I killed it.

Summary: 5 item(s). 5 succeeded, 0 failed.
Elapsed time: 00:01:04

Organization Prerequisites
Completed
Elapsed Time: 00:00:12

Hub Transport Role Prerequisites
Completed
Elapsed Time: 00:00:12

Client Access Role Prerequisites
Completed
Elapsed Time: 00:00:12

Unified Messaging Server Role Prerequisites
Completed
Elapsed Time: 00:00:12

Mailbox Role Prerequisites
Completed
Elapsed Time: 00:00:13

Look forward to your feedback and advice...
__________________
__________________________________________
Never play Leap Frog with a Unicorn...
Offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:56 AM   #25 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I installed the sp1 updates for .net 2 and 3 both, not noticing any issues with 4.1.4r3, this is with exchange 2007sp1.

My exchange and blackberry servers where fully updated according to microsoft as of 12/11/2007
Offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 11:40 AM   #26 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hdawg View Post
rcom9 - Welcome to the forums!

You should let the activation continue until it either finishes successfully or presents you with an error. How long did it hang for? What did it hang on?

Does this company also manage your Exchange / BES environment, or just host it?

FYI, its BES, an acronym for BlackBerry Enterprise Server.
Thank you!

Letting them go until they error out is something I was not doing, being when it worked it started within 30 seconds so thank you for that...

I do not know what they were hanging on but I will pay more attention to that in the future...

They host for sure and I have been managing the migration ( We are reviewing the contract to see exactly what our roles are)

I have experience in Exchange but BES is new to me. I was not here yet when the decision was made to put Exchange 2007 into production before a sp was even out or my standard 2 year waiting period on any new versions of anything MS comes up with...

Thanks for your help...
Offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 06:56 AM   #27 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Model: 9810
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 261
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

rcom9,
Not to send this off topic, I wanna know how/where you got an 8130 on Cingulars network? I will order today, just tell me how.

Cross yalls fingers for me, doing my SP1 upgrade this afternoon.
Offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 04:40 PM   #28 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vhato View Post
rcom9,
Not to send this off topic, I wanna know how/where you got an 8130 on Cingulars network? I will order today, just tell me how.

Cross yalls fingers for me, doing my SP1 upgrade this afternoon.
8100 sorry... Pearl
Offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 05:05 PM   #29 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Model: 9810
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 261
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My upgrade went smooth as silk, just press "Next". Took about 40 minutes. Now though everything is working, I can see traces of my old Exchange 2000 server I transitioned from. Everything is working, but it appears Exchange 2007 is still looking for it.

Last edited by vhato : 12-14-2007 at 05:07 PM.
Offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 12:05 PM   #30 (permalink)
New Member
 
Captclam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool BES 2k7sp1 same server- wrking great.

All went well. The only irritation, is I forgot the updates wipe out my OWA customizations. It also overwrites redirects from 80 to 443 if you had your site setup like that.

Piece...
__________________
__________________________________________
Never play Leap Frog with a Unicorn...
Offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 11:27 PM   #31 (permalink)
New Member
 
jonbtheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just in case anybody cares (I know hdiggity was looking for 4.1.4+): we fired up a test Exchange 2007 box and upgraded it to SP1 on Friday and our 4.1.3 BES is working just swimmingly with it.
Offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 11:35 PM   #32 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonbtheman View Post
we fired up a test Exchange 2007 box and upgraded it to SP1 on Friday and our 4.1.3 BES is working just swimmingly with it.
This is excellent to hear! I couldn't see any reason why it wouldn't given a lack of change in MAPI components ... I have a feeling we may see more upgrades to SP1 than RIM might be expecting.
Offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:31 PM   #33 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 237 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Just wanted to chime in to say that I've upgraded our BES to MR4, and it's still working fine with Exchange 2007 SP1.

While I didn't expect anything would break... I'm still thankful that it didn't.
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:41 PM   #34 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by penguin3107 View Post
Just wanted to chime in to say that I've upgraded our BES to MR4, and it's still working fine with Exchange 2007 SP1.

While I didn't expect anything would break... I'm still thankful that it didn't.
<cough>update sig</cough>
Offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 04:49 PM   #35 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 237 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hdawg View Post
<cough>update sig</cough>
I updated my sig before I posted that. I think your damn monkey switched it back on me. He's a tricky little ape, that one.

Oh and just so you know hdawg ... I love you; you're the bestest.
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org

Last edited by hdawg : 12-20-2007 at 04:52 PM.
Offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 04:53 PM   #36 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by penguin3107 View Post
I updated my sig before I posted that. I think your damn monkey switched it back on me. He's a tricky little ape, that one.

Oh and just so you know hdawg ... I love you; you're the bestest.
awwww, MONKEY POO ON YOU!
Offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 05:00 PM   #37 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 237 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Curse those moderator privileges!



(good one, btw!)
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 05:07 PM   #38 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 237 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hdawg View Post
MONKEY POO ON YOU!
Right back at ya.


Ooh... that might make a good avatar for you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg iflingpoo.jpg (37.8 KB, 7 views)
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 05:31 PM   #39 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Now you've got me googling poo ...

http://imagecache2.allposters.com/im...oo-Posters.jpg
Offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:22 PM   #40 (permalink)
New Member
 
jonbtheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Man, this thread declined quickly...
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.