BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2008, 06:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default enterprise activation w/o having to wipe the device?

Please Login to Remove!

hi everyone,

should be a simple question but i was wondering if anyone knows how to allow a user to enterprise activate again w/o having to wipe their device? currently when we delete and re-add users in BES manager, users need to wipe their device and they end up losing a lot of data.

it would be nice is there was something that could be done on the device that is not as harsh as wiping.

thanks in advance!
--Tony
Offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
x14
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.546
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2,344
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Default

If all you are doing is removing the user and adding the same user/blackberry back you do not need to wipe the BB.

Yu need to wipe if there's something reaaly wrong with the BB and you want to start from scratch.
__________________
Exchange 2007/BES 5.0.2 MR2
Offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 07:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

is there anything that i need to to do "reconnect" the device with the provisioned user in the manager? when i do this...the status of the user stays at "initializing" and the device doesn't get any data? do they just run enterprise activation again but w/o wiping?
Offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 07:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal
Model: 9780
PIN: 271A36CC
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 120
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (8700r: BlackBerry8800/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/107)

You should do a backup of the device before.

But no, you dont have to wipe. Regularly, at work, we have to reactivate device on the BES and we dont wipe them before.
Offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 06:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
x14
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.546
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2,344
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by awhlee View Post
is there anything that i need to to do "reconnect" the device with the provisioned user in the manager? when i do this...the status of the user stays at "initializing" and the device doesn't get any data? do they just run enterprise activation again but w/o wiping?
You always have to do EA when adding a BB to BES.
__________________
Exchange 2007/BES 5.0.2 MR2
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.