Erase data and disable scenario
I have a user that lost his device in another country. So I went on the server and sent an erase data and disable command.
Problem is the device seems to be turned off since pending data packets are adding up and the disable status says error. He is going to need a new device in the next few days so my questions are:
Should I wait and hope that someone turns on the device so the wipe occurs?
My fear is that we'll need to delete/recreate his BB account to setup the new device and risk not having the wipe ever happen on his old lost device - which would leave company data on the lost handheld.
Has anyone run into a similar situation? Thanks
This command will hold on the network for 7 days. After that the command is dropped. This situation is out of your hands, you can't sit and wait for weeks to see if the command works. While you're waiting this user cannot use a BB, the longer you wait the longer the user waits.
Also, do you enforce password protection? If so, they will have to get the correct password to gain access to the BB and after 10 attempts it will erase itself anyways.
If you don't enforce it you might want to now, live and learn I guess.
I guess I'll wait till we get him a new device, and delete his account to remove the disable command (i think this would carry over to a new device).
|All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.