BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/)
-   BES Admin Corner (http://www.blackberryforums.com/bes-admin-corner/)
-   -   Enterprise Activation leftovers issue with Old User (http://www.blackberryforums.com/bes-admin-corner/170732-enterprise-activation-leftovers-issue-old-user.html)

navgs400 01-15-2009 11:15 AM

Enterprise Activation leftovers issue with Old User
 
I have an interesting issue I was hoping you could assist me with. I have a Bold for a new user that has the same email/account on the BES as the previous person with that phone. I tried doing a wipe, a erase/disable from the BES and a wipe/reinstall using JL_Cmder. Everything is fine each time until I do the enterprise activation. Once I do that, it loads all the settings from the previous user including:
  • Call Logs (filled with old user's calls)
  • Icon Organization/Ordering (He had custom folders created for certain apps)
  • BB Messenger Contacts
  • Service Books (incl previous user's personal email leftovers and more)
I did the JL_Cmder wipe hoping it would clear absolutely everything because I know it deleted the OS to say the least.

Is there some file being kept on the blackberry itself or is all this info somehow being stored on and then pushed from the BES? I figured it was on the phone but now I'm not so sure. If I had a spare phone I'd do EA on that and see if the settings are pushed down but we don't have an extra at the moment.

Can anybody shed some light and assist on the issue or the solution?

Thank you very much!

Brian

Jadey 01-15-2009 11:17 AM

If you are activating a device with an EXISTING BES account, then BES will send any data it has for "that user" including call log history, font settings, display settings, and so on and so forth. BES wirelessly backs up devices, so that if you EA a new device for a user, they get "their settings" on it.

Wiping and reactivating the phone will not help, the settings are on BES.

To get a "clean" EA, delete the user account from BES. Give BES enough time to purge all data. Re-add the user to BES. Wipe the phone, EA it. All clean.

navgs400 01-15-2009 11:21 AM

Thank you for your quick reply! Is there any way to sort through and remove that information/data without deleting the user? Just curious... will delete if that's the only option. Thanks again!

juwaack68 01-15-2009 11:23 AM

That is the only (and best) option. There is no reason to want to leave anything behind from the old user.

CO_BBTechie 01-15-2009 11:34 AM

You may clear the online backup for that user vs. deleting them.

Highlight the user, and under "service control & customization" select "clear PIM sync backup data"

Jadey 01-15-2009 11:42 AM

Yeah, but that won't clear everything (e.g. custom signatures etc.)

As the OP has not specified anything that they WANT to keep, I cannot see an issue with a delete / re-add.

DarthBBerry 01-15-2009 11:58 AM

To the Original Poster....
dont take this the wrong way, but in the amount of time it would take you to delete the old users data so the new user won't get it.... you could've deleted them completely, added the new person and activated the device.

If you're looking to copy the mail file info from the old person to the new, why not just get your E-mail Admin to copy the mailfile/inbox over on the mail server? You would avoid a lot of JL_CMDR wipes.

navgs400 01-15-2009 01:31 PM

Alright problem solved, I turned off Automatic Wireless Backup and deleted the user from the BES before re-adding and EA. Thank you all very much for your help! I wasn't able to try anything until just now because I was in a meeting but it went flawlessly. No stress of frustration. Thanks again!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.