BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2009, 11:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Enterprise Activation leftovers issue with Old User

Please Login to Remove!

I have an interesting issue I was hoping you could assist me with. I have a Bold for a new user that has the same email/account on the BES as the previous person with that phone. I tried doing a wipe, a erase/disable from the BES and a wipe/reinstall using JL_Cmder. Everything is fine each time until I do the enterprise activation. Once I do that, it loads all the settings from the previous user including:
  • Call Logs (filled with old user's calls)
  • Icon Organization/Ordering (He had custom folders created for certain apps)
  • BB Messenger Contacts
  • Service Books (incl previous user's personal email leftovers and more)
I did the JL_Cmder wipe hoping it would clear absolutely everything because I know it deleted the OS to say the least.

Is there some file being kept on the blackberry itself or is all this info somehow being stored on and then pushed from the BES? I figured it was on the phone but now I'm not so sure. If I had a spare phone I'd do EA on that and see if the settings are pushed down but we don't have an extra at the moment.

Can anybody shed some light and assist on the issue or the solution?

Thank you very much!

Brian
Offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 11:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
BBF War Game Mod
 
Jadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denver CO
Model: Z10
OS: 10010614
PIN: SEEKRIT innit
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 4,294
Post Thanks: 9
Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
Default

If you are activating a device with an EXISTING BES account, then BES will send any data it has for "that user" including call log history, font settings, display settings, and so on and so forth. BES wirelessly backs up devices, so that if you EA a new device for a user, they get "their settings" on it.

Wiping and reactivating the phone will not help, the settings are on BES.

To get a "clean" EA, delete the user account from BES. Give BES enough time to purge all data. Re-add the user to BES. Wipe the phone, EA it. All clean.
__________________
Jadey : Groupware Infrastructure Architect, Denver CO
If I'm not here, I'm playing World's End on FaceBook. Mob/Mafia Wars are SOO last year
Offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 11:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for your quick reply! Is there any way to sort through and remove that information/data without deleting the user? Just curious... will delete if that's the only option. Thanks again!
Offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 11:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
iPhone Convert
 
juwaack68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tulip City - MI
Model: iP5
OS: 6.0.2
PIN: to beans
Carrier: I'm not
Posts: 13,875
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 72 Times in 55 Posts
Default

That is the only (and best) option. There is no reason to want to leave anything behind from the old user.
__________________
No longer a BES Admin, but it was fun while it lasted!
Offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 11:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
CO_BBTechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver
Model: 8310
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2,044
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You may clear the online backup for that user vs. deleting them.

Highlight the user, and under "service control & customization" select "clear PIM sync backup data"
__________________
Treat your password like your toothbrush. Don't let anybody else use it, and get a new one every six months.
Clifford Stoll
Offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 11:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
BBF War Game Mod
 
Jadey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denver CO
Model: Z10
OS: 10010614
PIN: SEEKRIT innit
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 4,294
Post Thanks: 9
Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Yeah, but that won't clear everything (e.g. custom signatures etc.)

As the OP has not specified anything that they WANT to keep, I cannot see an issue with a delete / re-add.
__________________
Jadey : Groupware Infrastructure Architect, Denver CO
If I'm not here, I'm playing World's End on FaceBook. Mob/Mafia Wars are SOO last year
Offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 11:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wireless Sith Lord
 
DarthBBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Online
Model: iOS 6
Carrier: Verizon x2
Posts: 1,458
Post Thanks: 2
Thanked 27 Times in 22 Posts
Default

To the Original Poster....
dont take this the wrong way, but in the amount of time it would take you to delete the old users data so the new user won't get it.... you could've deleted them completely, added the new person and activated the device.

If you're looking to copy the mail file info from the old person to the new, why not just get your E-mail Admin to copy the mailfile/inbox over on the mail server? You would avoid a lot of JL_CMDR wipes.
__________________
DarthBBerry
6-Time BlackBerry World Champion (2007-2012)
BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist v5.0
BlackBerry® Certified System Administrator v5.0
Offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 01:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Alright problem solved, I turned off Automatic Wireless Backup and deleted the user from the BES before re-adding and EA. Thank you all very much for your help! I wasn't able to try anything until just now because I was in a meeting but it went flawlessly. No stress of frustration. Thanks again!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright © 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.