BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2009, 09:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 111
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Moving from one BEs environment to another?

Please Login to Remove!

Hello

I have a large number of users that will be moving onto my BES 5.0 environment from a BES 4.0 one.

Apart from having them removed from their previous BES server and wiping the handheld do I need to consider anything as regards the IT policy they have on the smartphone?

From my understanding the IT policy is not removed solely by performing a smartphone wipe. I know that the IT policy on the BES 4.0 environment was just the Default one and it doesn't "do" anything, and the same will apply in my environment, but can these 2 policies co-exist despite having been "pushed" out by 2 seperate BES environments (Seperate Business, Forest etc).

Or do I have to tell them to do something more drastic like reimaging their smartphones?

Many cheers
Tom
Offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 237 Times in 219 Posts
Default

No, when you do the wipe on the handheld it will "prep" the device for accepting an IT Policy from another BES. The BES 4.x policy will still be on the device, and it will be overwritten by the new IT Policy from the new BES.
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 09:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 111
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks chap

Could I therefore say with authority to our users that they have to wipe the data from their handheld prior to being connected to "our" BES? I am pretty sure I read on RIM today that this is what you must do.

In which case, if the smartphone owners have "data" or "settings" they want to keep will a Desktop Manager Backup and then restore give them back everything they had? Or are there too many scenarios where you cannot legislate for what they have on their smartphones so the best you can do is tell them to backup, wipe, restore and then we can activate? Third party apps for instance I assume would need to be backed up using something else...
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.