BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2005, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacramento
Model: 7250
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 54
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question 2 Senarios involving The Kill Command

Please Login to Remove!

Senario 1: What if you have a device lost or stolen, send the Kill command to the device, then you activate a new device for the user? My one experience is I sent a kill command to a lost device. Then when I activated the new device for the same user as soon as I activated it, it recieved the kill command I sent for the lost device and wiped the new device. I then had to reactivate it again. Is this the normal behaviour?

Senario 2: User leaves our organization and takes the BB with him/her. Assume the device is off and not connected to RIMs network. I send the Kill Command to the device. Active Directory Admin deletes users account & Mailbox forcing me to remove users account from the BES. (you will get an error stating the mailbox no longer exists trying to verify the Kill command has been recieved by the device.) Does the Kill command remain queued on RIMS network? Will device still get the kill command once connected back to RIMS network? Does anyone know for sure?
__________________
James
Offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
iPhone Convert
 
juwaack68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tulip City - MI
Model: iP5
OS: 6.0.2
PIN: to beans
Carrier: I'm not
Posts: 13,876
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 75 Times in 56 Posts
Default

I have issued the kill command a few times and never had it behave the way you're describing in the first scenario. I could be wrong, but I think the command is sent to a devices PIN, and not tied to a users name.

Not sure about the 2nd scenario.
Offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacramento
Model: 7250
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 54
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation I though so too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by juwaack68
I have issued the kill command a few times and never had it behave the way you're describing in the first scenario. I could be wrong, but I think the command is sent to a devices PIN, and not tied to a users name.
I though so too. It really freaked me out when it wiped the new device after it being activated. I would really like to know if the Kill Command is queued somewhere in RIMs network pending connection by the device. Also it would be nice to know for sure if the Kill Command is sent to device PIN or what.
__________________
James
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.