BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2007, 04:05 PM   #21 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8707g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Thank you for this guide. But still got a question or two:

I have a SBS 2003 machine installed. Then another one with Server 2003 on it. On this one Server I installed the BES.

Now, where do I find the System Manager application that I need for the BES Server machine?

Do I need to configure the BESAdmin account on the Exchange Server or on the BES-Server?

During the setup of the BES I am asked to enter the address of the Exchange Server. I am guessing this is the Exchange Server address and not the BES Server one, right? So if I have an address of "exchange.mydomain.local" I would have to enter this value there?

Hope that someone can help me. Thank you.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:13 AM   #22 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BBAdmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Port 3101.org
Model: .
Carrier: .
Posts: 2,492
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Now, where do I find the System Manager application that I need for the BES Server machine
Exchange System Manager (which you should install on the BES)

Quote:
Do I need to configure the BESAdmin account on the Exchange Server or on the BES-Server
You're best to do it on the BES. You will have installed Exchange System Manager and will have AD access on it so nothing to stop you. You also have to give local rights on the machine though and therefore you have to do that on the BES. All of this will need to be done while logged on as Administrator though, not BESAdmin.

Quote:
During the setup of the BES I am asked to enter the address of the Exchange Server
Just enter the name of the Exchnage server - you can perform a 'check name' on this screen anyway to ensure you have it right.
__________________

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:55 AM   #23 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BBAdmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Port 3101.org
Model: .
Carrier: .
Posts: 2,492
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you have the Exchange system manager installed on the BES then that gives you access to Exchange features and AD - what seems odd about that?????

It seems like you have some connectivity issues between your Exchange Server and your BES machine which you'll need to overcome.
__________________

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 07:10 AM   #24 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fairfield, CT
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1.0.755
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 618
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Didn't notice any mention of the MDAC 2.8SP1 or greater dependency.

Awesome writeup. Someone needed to fix RIM's pathetic documentation.
__________________
BB devices I've owned: 957 : 7750 : 7250 : 8703e : 8830 : 9530 : 9630 : 9650 : 9930 : 64GB PB

BES 5.0.4 ~ BES 10.1
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 06:02 PM   #25 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default connection speed

Hi,
Thanks for indications, ref. the hardware requirements (apart from the minimum indicated by RIM), is there an ideal configuration? Same question ref to data speed for BES, what is the minimum required (upload/download), and what would be the ideal?
Thanks for help!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 03:02 AM   #26 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BBAdmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Port 3101.org
Model: .
Carrier: .
Posts: 2,492
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The hardware requirements in this checklist should fit up to 500 users.

In terms of netowrk connectivity between BES and Exchange (ping times):

<35ms Ideal
<50ms Acceptable
<75ms Warning
>100ms Not possible
__________________

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 03:10 AM   #27 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 36
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Microsoft SQL Server 2000 driver for JDBC Service Pack 3

Is this installed with the base 4.1 Install or do we need to install seperately? Before or after the BES server.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 07:16 PM   #28 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Any and all components required for installation (per the install guide) will automatically installed (well, they'll be attempted to be installed if needed ... they could fail however if something else is messed on the server) during the installation.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 01:28 PM   #29 (permalink)
rek
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Given the announcement that RIM has certified support for Exchange 2007 with the BES, do you have plans to produce a set of BES prerequisites for Exchange 2007 any time soon?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 02:10 PM   #30 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Perhaps this?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 05:17 PM   #31 (permalink)
rek
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sure, I saw that, and it's certainly most helpful. But it's not quite exactly the same thing as the BES prerequisites for Exchange 2003 above, which deals with items that aren't covered in the installation guide you point to. I guess that's why they're in separate threads. In any event, assuming everything above (except the explicit Exchange references) still holds true for Exchange 2007, then it's left as an exercise for the reader to merge the two guides.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 02:04 AM   #32 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 36
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What is meant by "If using a proxying firewall, ensure that the proxy is transparent"?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 04:03 PM   #33 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BBAdmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Port 3101.org
Model: .
Carrier: .
Posts: 2,492
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
do you have plans to produce a set of BES prerequisites for Exchange 2007
Yep, in the process at the moment - just been a bit hectic.
__________________

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 12:09 PM   #34 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
mavsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Model: 9630
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 144
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

jackpot. thanks for your hard work BBadmin
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 02:41 PM   #35 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BBAdmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Port 3101.org
Model: .
Carrier: .
Posts: 2,492
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ha, cheers mate! I just need to find the time to get the 2007 one done!
__________________

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 07:55 PM   #36 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Very useful indeed. Thanks very much BBadmin.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 09:40 AM   #37 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Model: Torch
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 179
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks BBadmin, nice job and I'll shamelessly fold this info into our company's BES install doc.

Any thoughts on modifying this statement:

"Configure your firewall to initiate a bi-directional TCP/IP connection to an external server on port 3101"

to this:

"Configure your firewall to allow outbound only TCP/IP connections to the appropriate SRP address on port 3101"

Best,
Mark
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 01:10 PM   #38 (permalink)
SEP
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 9000
Carrier: -
Posts: 152
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BES and partitions

is it a good idea to create 2 partitions, small one say 15Gb just for windows server 2003 and install BES on the big D: ?

Cheers
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 03:58 PM   #39 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,632
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SEP View Post
is it a good idea to create 2 partitions, small one say 15Gb just for windows server 2003 and install BES on the big D: ?

Cheers
This is really a preference thing ... but I generally don't partition. Rather, I manage my disk space and monitor the usage. Having additional partitions always causes confusion and wasted space IMO.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 04:53 AM   #40 (permalink)
New Member
 
Lamer980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 7200E
PIN: N/A
Carrier: psihology
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nice information dear! thanks! very kind of you!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.