BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2009, 02:53 PM   #181 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Proximus
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by knottyrope View Post
Support will not look at your BES/BPS until they are removed.
Upgrades may fail with more than one free CAL.

Buy the CALs. They are not free and you are stealing
What do you mean?
At be.blackberry.com (slash) services (slash) professional slash express.jsp they clearly say that 1 CAL is included in the download.
Also at be.blackberry.com (slash) services (slash) professional (slash) express.jsp#tab_tab_download you have to enter the PIN of your device so it is tracked and linked to the device (the CAL I suppose).
But then again, can I download this a second time for my second device and use this CAL for the first downloaded Professional Express?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 03:00 PM   #182 (permalink)
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: Passp
OS: 10.2.1
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 6,796
Post Thanks: 283
Thanked 300 Times in 284 Posts
Default

Same still applies. After your first free CAL you must buy the rest of your CALs.
__________________
irony : many old timer posters have de-evolved into the trolls they once fought
I am on http://supportforums.blackberry.com
BES 10 running sweet for my Passport, Z30, Z10 and Q10
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 03:07 PM   #183 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Proximus
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK. I supposed so but that was and still is not really clear on the info on those pages.
Thx
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 03:12 PM   #184 (permalink)
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: Passp
OS: 10.2.1
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 6,796
Post Thanks: 283
Thanked 300 Times in 284 Posts
Unhappy

It clearly states in
BlackBerry

One copy of the BlackBerry Professional Software, with one user included (expandable to 30 users with the purchase of additional CALs)

What part do you not understand?
__________________
irony : many old timer posters have de-evolved into the trolls they once fought
I am on http://supportforums.blackberry.com
BES 10 running sweet for my Passport, Z30, Z10 and Q10
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 12:31 PM   #185 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Movistar Argentina
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

We have and SBE BES with 5 CALL of 5 users each.
Our carrier just give us a new BES with new SRP ID and KEY and a new 20 users CAL.

The question:
Can we convert our current installed SBE BES to BES with the new SRP ID and Key and the new CAL?

Thanks.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 12:39 PM   #186 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,366
Post Thanks: 11
Thanked 69 Times in 66 Posts
Default

if this is a SBE 4.1.x and not a BPS you should be able to convert your server by only adding the license key, then you should have a full bes.
Worked for me.

If you got a BESv5 license, you can install the new license key, and then do an in place upgrade to the BESv5.

Last edited by nobody7290 : 11-04-2009 at 12:41 PM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 12:51 PM   #187 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Movistar Argentina
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks.

I delete all the keys in the DB an then install the new CAL and done, just that. I change the SRP ID and Key just in case.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 01:29 PM   #188 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,366
Post Thanks: 11
Thanked 69 Times in 66 Posts
Default

You should be able just to add the new key. Then have 25 licenses avilible.

I dont think, the SRP must be changed. (I dont have in depth knowledge, but i think it is just an uniqu identifier for your server, not related to the licensing)
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:07 AM   #189 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Model: 8120
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think this was answered way back at the start of this thread but I want to be sure.

Can you 'over licence' a BES Small Business server? It has a 15 CAL limit but can you put more than that on without it complaining?

thanks
JB
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:44 AM   #190 (permalink)
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: Passp
OS: 10.2.1
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 6,796
Post Thanks: 283
Thanked 300 Times in 284 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Branners2008 View Post
I think this was answered way back at the start of this thread but I want to be sure.

Can you 'over licence' a BES Small Business server? It has a 15 CAL limit but can you put more than that on without it complaining?

thanks
JB
Only 15 sorry.
__________________
irony : many old timer posters have de-evolved into the trolls they once fought
I am on http://supportforums.blackberry.com
BES 10 running sweet for my Passport, Z30, Z10 and Q10
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:05 PM   #191 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Model: 8120
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knottyrope View Post
Only 15 sorry.
Thanks.

So it should actually refuse to take the licence code?

I think we have Small Business BES running 22 licences at the moment which is what worries me.

thanks
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:32 PM   #192 (permalink)
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: Passp
OS: 10.2.1
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 6,796
Post Thanks: 283
Thanked 300 Times in 284 Posts
Default

Maybe it is professional. Look at the other sticky to see your version
HOWTO: Identify the version of BES you're running
__________________
irony : many old timer posters have de-evolved into the trolls they once fought
I am on http://supportforums.blackberry.com
BES 10 running sweet for my Passport, Z30, Z10 and Q10
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 11:17 AM   #193 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Model: 8120
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I followed the instructions on that link and the Support Info page says

Quote:
Blackberry Professional Software for Microsoft Exchange

Use the following information blah blah
Publisher: Research in Motion
Version : 4.1.4 (bundle 143)
And I think I can see where my confusion comes from, in the licence manager it says I have Small Business licences, but they must be from when we had small business for Lotus Notes. We upgraded last year to Exchange and changed BES at that point.

So it looks like we have Blackberry Professional which should have a 30 user limit. Phew, thats better.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 01:21 AM   #194 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 236
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BPS Cal on BES SBE

....

Last edited by voda_black : 11-14-2009 at 01:28 AM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 06:00 AM   #195 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 236
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Cant seem to edit the above entry.....

A search did not give me 100% clarity on this - so will ask again:

A friend of mine has a BPS Cal. Can he use this in an install of BES SBE? Basically, he has the install files of BES SBE - but you can only sign up for BPS Express now. BES SBE having the advantage of being able to get HTML emails....
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 11:09 AM   #196 (permalink)
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: Passp
OS: 10.2.1
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 6,796
Post Thanks: 283
Thanked 300 Times in 284 Posts
Default

You need a SBE SRP to install it.

SBE CALs are different. you can upgrade to BPS but BPS CALs do not work on SBE
__________________
irony : many old timer posters have de-evolved into the trolls they once fought
I am on http://supportforums.blackberry.com
BES 10 running sweet for my Passport, Z30, Z10 and Q10
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 01:40 PM   #197 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 236
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thought that would be the case. Thanks for clarifying anyway!
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 08:09 AM   #198 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Model: n/a
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

We've been doing our maths here and think it'll be most cost effective for us to spawn a BES professional server and move up to 30 users and after that point spawn a second BES professional server.

Is anyone aware of any catches in the Blackberry licensing agreement that mean we cant do this?

Thanks
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 11:16 AM   #199 (permalink)
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: Passp
OS: 10.2.1
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 6,796
Post Thanks: 283
Thanked 300 Times in 284 Posts
Default

The cost in hardware, additional windows software, AV, maitenance, cooling, managing, updating and power consumption will be about the same cost as a BES upgrade.

Been there done that.
__________________
irony : many old timer posters have de-evolved into the trolls they once fought
I am on http://supportforums.blackberry.com
BES 10 running sweet for my Passport, Z30, Z10 and Q10
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 11:45 AM   #200 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Model: n/a
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the input Knottyrope; our infrastructure is already in place with Virtual machines across several datacentres , plus as we are MS partners there are no additional O/S costs... so we might be able to make it work. Just as long as Blackberry allow us to do it?!?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.