BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2007, 12:18 PM   #41 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Model: 8300
Carrier: T-Mobile & Verizon
Posts: 64
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hdawg View Post
Which version of BES do you have (4.0 or 4.1)? I forget what the license screen for 4.0 looks like, but for 4.1 if you launch the BES Manager and go to BlackBerry Domain > Global Tab > Account (under tasks) > License Management you should see the License Type.

When in doubt T-Support will be able to tell you exactly what you have.
I have version 4.1. I did look there, and there it is! Thanks for the help. Looks like everything is running smooth now.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 03:44 PM   #42 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
funkyp56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: iPhon
OS: 3.1.2
PIN: iPhones have no PIN
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 257
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New Bes Admin here

So we have Enterprise edition 4.0 with 40 cal (1-20 and 2-10 CALs)

I just read this thread about the free BlackBerry Professional Software 4.1 for Microsoft Exchange and am now downloading it.

Can this be installed on the same on the same server as the enterprise edition?

BTW, we are planning to upgrade the 4.0 to 4.1 (eventually 4.2) in the next 30 days.
Thanks in advance.
__________________
BES 5.0.0.137 w/30 Users
Network Admin
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 04:03 PM   #43 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 237 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkyp56 View Post
So we have Enterprise edition 4.0 with 40 cal (1-20 and 2-10 CALs)

I just read this thread about the free BlackBerry Professional Software 4.1 for Microsoft Exchange and am now downloading it.

Can this be installed on the same on the same server as the enterprise edition?

BTW, we are planning to upgrade the 4.0 to 4.1 (eventually 4.2) in the next 30 days.
Thanks in advance.
I don't think you can have two different versions of BES installed on the same server.
Also, there is no BES 4.2. 4.1.x is the latest.
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 04:08 PM   #44 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
funkyp56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: iPhon
OS: 3.1.2
PIN: iPhones have no PIN
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 257
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by penguin3107 View Post
Also, there is no BES 4.2. 4.1.x is the latest.
LOL, I think I knew that.

So What are my options because I need to test 4.1 before converting our server. And putting my blackberry on the latest and greatest sounded like a good idea!
__________________
BES 5.0.0.137 w/30 Users
Network Admin
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 06:27 PM   #45 (permalink)
x14
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.546
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2,344
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Default

If you have TSupport you can call RIM and ask for a trial SRP and CALs.
__________________
Exchange 2007/BES 5.0.2 MR2
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007, 02:42 AM   #46 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BBAdmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Port 3101.org
Model: .
Carrier: .
Posts: 2,492
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
If you have TSupport you can call RIM and ask for a trial SRP and CALs.
You don't need TSupport, you just need BBAdmin!!!! See below:

BlackBerry
__________________

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 01:25 AM   #47 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dubai
Model: 8700c
PIN: 203A948C
Carrier: Etisalat
Posts: 62
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidAdams View Post
My bad, sorry for that. My Small Business came with 10 CALs. Was i just lucky?
No. You got the BlackBerry Professional Software, which comes with 10 licenses by default and you can go upto 30 users. Upgrading to Enterprise Edition can be done by installing a "service pack" which is free of cost.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 01:57 AM   #48 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BBAdmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Port 3101.org
Model: .
Carrier: .
Posts: 2,492
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
No. You got the BlackBerry Professional Software, which comes with 10 licenses by default and you can go upto 30 users. Upgrading to Enterprise Edition can be done by installing a "service pack" which is free of cost.
Just to avoid confusion this is entirely incorrect. BPS ships with 1 not 10 users, and if you want to update it to Enterprise Edition you'll need to purchase a "BES update key" which is basically a special 5 user CAL that alters all your existing CAL's from SBE to Enterprise Edition.
__________________

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 11:38 AM   #49 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Abbotsford
Model: 9780
OS: 6.0.0.359
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 59
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default License discrepancy

I was just going thru my licensing when I noticed that 240 licenses were used yet I only have 231 users in the BES. I have a total of 301 licenses to use.

Is Rim using the 'New Math' when figuring out the licensing? lol..

Thanks

Mike
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 06:03 AM   #50 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BBAdmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Port 3101.org
Model: .
Carrier: .
Posts: 2,492
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maybe something sketchy in your DB
__________________

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 09:45 AM   #51 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: na
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Cannot remove last license

Hello ALL:
I have BES for Exchange ver 4.1 that I installed on a fresh server and migrated the data over onto early last year. I had a problem with the license keys were a few gave me a "incompatible with the current keys" tye error. RIM helped me(for free) by informing me that my licenses needed to be installed in a specific order because we origianlly started off with the SBE version and then upgraded via the unlock license/CAL. Well, I just got around trying to do this and it will not allow me to remove the last key. The option to remove is grayed out when I highlight the key. Miraculously this time when I contacted RIM they were not as polite and were quick to point out that I do not have TSupport. If anyone has seen this before please help me out. By the way the last key is a newer key since I can't install any of the old SBE ones, incase you were wondering.

-Joel
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2008, 10:25 AM   #52 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
DavidAdams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belfast
Model: NotYe
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 470
Post Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wusmani View Post
No. You got the BlackBerry Professional Software, which comes with 10 licenses by default and you can go upto 30 users. Upgrading to Enterprise Edition can be done by installing a "service pack" which is free of cost.
Just checked mine is most definitely a Small Business Edition with 10 cals. Think it was a case of RIM doing a "promotional" download for Domino. If I remember correctly they called it a "Quick Start Edition" and was on a time limited offer, the offer expired 31 Dec 2007. Glad i downloaded it when i did.
__________________
BES, 4.1.7, was SBE now full BES
Domino v7.0.2
Windows Server 2003, standalone

Last edited by DavidAdams : 01-14-2008 at 10:27 AM.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 01:44 PM   #53 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arrow Do you need seperate BES license for Router in DMZ?

Hi,

We would like to put our BES router into DMZ.

My question is do you need a seperate server license for the BES router?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 03:49 PM   #54 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Dirky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Up North - UK
Model: 8320
Carrier: T-Mobile UK
Posts: 265
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is it possible to add a single license to an already existing BES Express with 1 (free) license?

thanks
d
__________________
http://www.ubertechs.co.uk
Personal Blog - http://www.g6phf.co.uk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 02:59 AM   #55 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BBAdmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Port 3101.org
Model: .
Carrier: .
Posts: 2,492
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
We would like to put our BES router into DMZ.

My question is do you need a seperate server license for the BES router?
No.

Quote:
Is it possible to add a single license to an already existing BES Express with 1 (free) license?
Yes, but it depends on what type of licence you're adding.
__________________

Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 02:35 PM   #56 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Dirky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Up North - UK
Model: 8320
Carrier: T-Mobile UK
Posts: 265
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBAdmin View Post
No.



Yes, but it depends on what type of licence you're adding.
To add another BES exchange user?
__________________
http://www.ubertechs.co.uk
Personal Blog - http://www.g6phf.co.uk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 02:09 PM   #57 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 7520
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default BES Migration from Notes to Exchange licensing

My main question is if and how long can the two seperate BES servers "share" licenses? With the plan being to move the licenses when the migration is finished. I heard it is possible to "share" and it would work for 60 days. Any truth to that?

Thanks,
awandkk
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 02:44 PM   #58 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,631
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What kind of licenses? SRPs? CALs?
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 04:21 PM   #59 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 7520
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hdawg View Post
What kind of licenses? SRPs? CALs?
CALs. That brings up another question. We have 130 licenses. The original ten licenses have a key that starts with bescal, the rest start with besx35. I did not put up this server and do not know it's history. Is this because it was upgraded to an Enterprise server? Sorry if it is a noob question.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 04:39 PM   #60 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
hdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: hdawg
PIN: port3101.org
Carrier: hdawg
Posts: 6,631
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by awandkk View Post
CALs. That brings up another question. We have 130 licenses. The original ten licenses have a key that starts with bescal, the rest start with besx35. I did not put up this server and do not know it's history. Is this because it was upgraded to an Enterprise server? Sorry if it is a noob question.
-0- days if you intend on staying in compliance with your license agreement.

RIM changed how they named their licenses from BESX35 to just BESCAL; thats all.
Offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.