BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2005, 01:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7100T
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Reboot linux from a blackberry

Please Login to Remove!

Hey there
this probebly can be done but i dont have any experience with a blackberry.
What i need to do is reboot a linux server from a blackberry. either sending a message or writing an app to do it, doesnt matter, i can write the app myself once i get more info about it.
i was just wondering if anybody had any ideas?

-forge33
Offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Why don't you just use one of the SSH clients already written for the BlackBerry to connect to the server and reboot it?
Offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 01:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7100T
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

because its for my bosses and they arent too brght when it comes to using ssh and connecting to linux.
Offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7520
Posts: 31
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Reboot your bosses instead

If they're that dumb, what makes your bosses think they should be rebooting linux boxes?
Offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 06:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7290/4.0.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1)

Lol, I was thinking the same thing. The SSH client is the best bet.
Offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 06:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7290/4.0.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1)

Lol, I was thinking the same thing. The SSH client is the best bet.
Offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 02:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hackberry
If they're that dumb, what makes your bosses think they should be rebooting linux boxes?
haha. seriously, SSH clients aren't hard. have it setup as a pre-defined site and let them type in a password and type reboot. thats really not that hard.
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 07:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7100T
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 51
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep, not hard at all
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.