BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2005, 02:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7100T
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Reboot linux from a blackberry

Please Login to Remove!

Hey there
this probebly can be done but i dont have any experience with a blackberry.
What i need to do is reboot a linux server from a blackberry. either sending a message or writing an app to do it, doesnt matter, i can write the app myself once i get more info about it.
i was just wondering if anybody had any ideas?

-forge33
Offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 02:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Why don't you just use one of the SSH clients already written for the BlackBerry to connect to the server and reboot it?
Offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 02:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7100T
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

because its for my bosses and they arent too brght when it comes to using ssh and connecting to linux.
Offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7520
Posts: 31
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Reboot your bosses instead

If they're that dumb, what makes your bosses think they should be rebooting linux boxes?
Offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7290/4.0.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1)

Lol, I was thinking the same thing. The SSH client is the best bet.
Offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 07:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7290/4.0.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1)

Lol, I was thinking the same thing. The SSH client is the best bet.
Offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 03:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hackberry
If they're that dumb, what makes your bosses think they should be rebooting linux boxes?
haha. seriously, SSH clients aren't hard. have it setup as a pre-defined site and let them type in a password and type reboot. thats really not that hard.
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 08:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7100T
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 51
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep, not hard at all
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.