BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2007, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Model: Storm
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Code Sign for a Bitmap!!??

Please Login to Remove!

Hi Everyone,

I get the message that I'm trying to access a secure API when using this import: net.rim.device.api.system.Bitmap.

Question: why? Why do I need to sign my code just to display a bitmap downloaded from a URL? It's the same if I use net.rim.device.api.system.EncodedImage.

I'm just looking for a reason why I need to pay $100.00 to display a bitmap, or a work-around.
Offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 02:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if you'd pay me $100 i could probably tell you. as is you'll better ask RIM
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 09:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Model: Storm
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon.hain View Post
if you'd pay me $100 i could probably tell you. as is you'll better ask RIM
Ha ha Simon. I've been a developer for almost 15 years, new to Blackberry but not to Java. I'm a .NET developer foremost, but do like the fact that Java, and related open source tools are free.

It's no wonder there are a handfull of Blackberry apps. It's not that the Blackberry isn't popular. It's the lack of developer support, which leads me to my next question, but in a different topic because it's not related.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.