BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2007, 04:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 7100i
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Dont know
Posts: 195
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Authenticating a Blackberry Device

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

Currently i am wrking in some programs on how to authenticate a particular blackberry device and i found that one way is to use the PIN and the email of the device . Is there any other way to authenticate the BB device?

Thanks in advance.....
Offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 07:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 26
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The PIN is unique to a device, so you could do a HTTP request to a webserver and check if the PIN is in your database.
Offline  
Old 10-23-2007, 11:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 7100i
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Dont know
Posts: 195
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks jan,

But do u mean the only way for authenticating the device is to use the PIN of that device which can be sent in the header?
Offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 26
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no, it's of course not the only way, but it's a pretty easy and safe way. The drawbacks are that the users are required to have online connectivity on their devices (not always the case) and your webserver must be up all the time.

Another way would be to use licensekeys, but then you have to come up with a solid key algorithm. Also, you have to find ways to prevent the exchange of keys, maybe embedding the PIN into the key, so it only works on one device. This might also be more complicated for your users.
Offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 12:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 7100i
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Dont know
Posts: 195
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default opening a browser through an application using the rim api's

hi

Does anybody know how to open a browser through a application using the rim api's available, in J2ME they use requestPlatform () but i have no idea of opening using the rim api's..plz help



thanks to everyone who gives me a hint .....
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Vollrath 46643 Windway Mirror Finish S/S 11-3/4" Pie Server
$18.93
Vollrath 46643 Windway Mirror Finish S/S 11-3/4Service Ideas NG421BU New Generation 2 Liter Burgundy Server
$33.95
Service Ideas NG421BU New Generation 2 Liter Burgundy Server pictureServer Products 88925 ECO 64 Oz. Pump Dispenser
$89.24
Server Products 88925 ECO 64 Oz. Pump Dispenser picture2 Axis 243Q Four Channel Blade Video Server Encoders 0261-001-01
$55.0
2 Axis 243Q Four Channel Blade Video Server Encoders  0261-001-01 pictureB&B ESP902 V-LINX RS-232 Console / Serial Ethernet Server
$69.99
B&B ESP902 V-LINX RS-232 Console / Serial Ethernet Server picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.