BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2007, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default IOException Invalid tunnel name on T-Mobile 8320

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I am getting java.io.IOException "Inavlid tunnel name" when trying to open https connection:

HttpConnection con = (HttpConnection)Connector.open("https://myssite.com/bbtest?para=a");

Same code works fine on the simulator, but when I deployed to the real device I started getting exception. Other applications like gmail and gmap works fine. I did google search but did not find any solution. I just started with BB so I hope that it is something simple everybody knows about but me. I will appretiate any suggestion.

I am using BB 8320 on T-Mobile

Regards,
Sergei
Offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Solved it

It appeared that I had empty apn value. Works after setting APN value to "wap.voicestream.com".
Offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
AZA43's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boston
Model: 9000
OS: v4.6.0167
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 47
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default This was helpful...

I just upgraded my BB 8320 handheld software from v. 2.2.2.171 to v. 2.2.2.180, and after the install, I was having the same problem you described. I went into the BlackBerry Options, clicked "Advanced," scrolled down to "TCP" and typed in wap.voicestream.com, as you suggested, for the APN (I left the user name, etc., blank), and now my problem is solved.

I don't know why the new software install wiped my APN settings, but it seems that it did. So thanks for posting your resolution. It was very helpful.

AZA
Offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 07:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Model: curve
PIN: N/A
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was having the same problem when trying to run the Bodog Blackjack casino game. In Options-Advanced-TCP, my APN was blank as well. Put in the wap.voicestream.com and now it works like a charm! Thank god for internet forums.
Offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 06:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Model: 8120
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 8
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This worked for me as well on my 8120 on TMOBILE
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.