BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2007, 01:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 37
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Loading application onto Pearl causes uncaught exception

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I've created an application that runs fine on several blackberry devices, including 8700 and 7100. Now when i try load the .cod file onto the Pearl, using the javaloader -usb load app.cod and then try and run the application it hangs. So after waiting for several minutes, I am forced to power down the pearl, and power up again.

On restart, I get an Uncaught excpetion: application app.cod is not responding, process terminated.

I've surfed around for hours, and attempted building the application with JDE 4.0.2, 4.2.1 and 4.3, to no avail.... Has anyone had a similar problem, and does anyone know how to solve this problem?

Regards,

Tig*
Offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 04:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Golden, CO US
Model: 9700
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 684
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Will it run in the simulator?
Anything in the log? <ALT>LGLG
Offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 05:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 37
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yea, it runs in the simulator without any problems
Offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 07:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Moscow
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.304
Carrier: MTC
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can you upload on this thread your device log?
(Ctrl+ LGLG on your pearl)
Offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 08:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 37
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I viewed the logs, and I've copied todays logs. I'm not sure what to do with it now... I've tried using the device manager to connect to the device, and find the logs, but unfortunately, i can't find where the logs are located... I've had a quick search online, and I see no information on how to retrieve these logs and view them on your computer.

Anyways, looking at the logs, I've noticed there is a list of ForcedStackTraceException generated when I try and run the appliction. The first exception refers to ApplicationManagerImp and the second last exception refers to Canvas repaint. Now bear in mind this application works on all of my other blackberry's

Regards,

Tig*

Last edited by Tigmeister : 11-05-2007 at 09:00 AM.
Offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 06:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 37
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I've still had no luck at all with loading this pearl application. Am I the first one who's any problems with this?
Offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 09:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 37
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Solution

Hi.

I've had a look into this, and managed to solve the issue. It is necessary to upgrade the OS on the Pearl device, preferably to the latest OS available.

An issue that you may come accross:

A) How to upgrade:
---> Download the Desktop Software v4.2 SP2 (English).exe which has the blackberry Desktop manager you will need.
---> Download the new OS, in my case 8100M_PBr4.2.1_rel164_PL2.3.0.80_A4.2.1.101_Vodafo ne_UK.exe from the blackberry website.
---> Install both. Then in the Program Files/Common Files/Research In Motion/Shared folder, you will find the folder of the new OS which you have just installed.
---> In order to have the Desktop Manager ask you to upgrade OS when you start up the application loader, you will need to rename the vendor.xml found somewhere in the Shared folder described in the previous point.

Now start up the Desktop manager with your device connected to the computer, and then start up application loader. (if you want to keep the applications already installed, make sure to select the backup device option before continuing with this.

Hope that helps guys.

Regards,

Tig*
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.