BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2007, 01:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Remap keyboard

Please Login to Remove!

If I wanted to remap the keyboard, where should I start looking at?

Hi guys, I am new to BlackBerry, I am on that situation where I don't even know where to start.

I want to change 1 or 2 keys on the BlackBerry Curve keyboard, if you could point me in the right direction, what should I be looking at?

My intention is to change the way two keys work, I want to assign the "Alt" key functionality, to the right hand side "Shift" key.

I am running a usability test and I need this solution temporally to continue my investigation.

I don't even know if this is possible.

Thank you for any help, link, comment...

Miguel Gonzalez.
Offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 04:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 37
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default KeypadListener

Hi,

I'll give you a little nudge in the right direction. You wanna look at the using the KeypadListener and implement the keyChar method.

I think there is a variable Characters.STATUS_ALT or Canvas.STATUS_ALT.

Hope that helps.
Offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 04:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

within keyChar:
if (status==STATUS_SHIFT_LEFT)
status=STATUS_ALT;
if (status==STATUS_ALT)
status=STATUS_SHIFT_LEFT;
super(...

should exchange both keys, at least as long as keyboard input is concerned. if you want to completly exchange them you have to overwrite the navigationevent-methods, too.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany

Last edited by simon.hain : 11-09-2007 at 04:46 AM.
Offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm not even sure what language that is, but you might want to make the second 'if' an 'else if'...

Last edited by gtpunch : 06-25-2008 at 05:26 PM. Reason: removed failed quote
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.