BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2007, 10:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 7130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 7130
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question How to modify the information displayed when a call incoming

Please Login to Remove!

i wanna develope an application to monitor incoming calls, and modify the information displayed when a call incoming. so i used PhoneListner to monitor the phone calls. I found the information displayed has stored in PhoneCall object when the callIncoming method is called.

public void callIncoming(int callId) {
PhoneCall phoneCall = Phone.getCall(callId);
.......
}

the phoneCall object has name of contact who has the incoming call phone number.

what i wanna do is add the contact address information in the display status. like phone number addres. Then i can know where is the partipatant from the phone number. of course, it's static information.

any suggestions?

thanks!
-jwxu
Offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 02:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 61
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i cant get you clearly....if your application runs in background and if u want to display phonenumber during incoming call just implement this code in abstract method

Code:
 PhoneCall callInfo = Phone.getActiveCall();

      if ( callInfo != null )
          {      
          Telephone = callInfo.getDisplayPhoneNumber();           
          UiApplication.getUiApplication().invokeLater(new Runnable()
          {
            public void run()
            {
                Status.show("incoming from: "+Telephone);
	    }
          });

Last edited by sunnan : 11-29-2007 at 03:48 AM.
Offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 7130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 7130
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

when a new call incoming, a screen which includes caller phone number like(+8613812345678) pops up. i wanna modify the phone number (+8613812345678). eg. i wanna display the phone number like "+8613812345678 Beijing".
Offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York City
Model: 8310
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 132
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I use berryacode for the US
Offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: 9xx0
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,913
Post Thanks: 59
Thanked 241 Times in 180 Posts
Default

Berry-a-Code does that, not sure if it works out of the US or North American, but its purpose is if a call comes to your BB which is NOT listed in your AddressBook, it will show you the City, State origin of the call.

Berry-a-Code.
Offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 7130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 7130
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the orignal screen is
1.JPG
i wanna the modified screen like
2.JPG
Offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 12:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
richard.puckett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Model: 9020
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 212
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Heh, there's a local company (Seattle) who's entire business model is based on that. Cequint

@jwxu: Do you have enough info now to proceed? If you're still stuck after a couple days bump this thread (or message me) and we'll see what we can do. I'd like to start a code cookbook site - this might be a nice "recipe" to have on it.
Offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 08:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 10
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard.puckett View Post
Heh, there's a local company (Seattle) who's entire business model is based on that. Cequint

@jwxu: Do you have enough info now to proceed? If you're still stuck after a couple days bump this thread (or message me) and we'll see what we can do. I'd like to start a code cookbook site - this might be a nice "recipe" to have on it.
looks like all cequint does is store a database on the phone of all area codes and prefixes then the software does a lookup and displays the city of the caller.
Offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 09:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 7130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 7130
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

for the area codes especially for cell phone number will be changed with time. it'll be better provding data import interface to user.
Offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 08:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: tcell
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

when there is an incoming call, I see only the contact name. I want to see the company name (if possible other details too) for the contacts that I made company name entree previously. Is this possible...
Offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 11:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 134
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Sunnan

Do you mean I should implement something like



Code:
public final class QuitCall extends AbstractPhoneListener {
static public void main(String[] args)
{

QuitCall.registerOnStartup();

}
static private void registerOnStartup()
{

QuitCall phone_handler = new QuitCall();

Phone.addPhoneListener(phone_handler);

}


private QuitCall(){}


private void checkCall(String ehandler, int callid)
{
PhoneCall callInfo = Phone.getCall(callid);
if ( callInfo != null ) {
/*
* Event Handler: ehandler
* Telephone No.: callInfo.getDisplayPhoneNumber();
* Elapsed Time : callInfo.getElapsedTime();
* Call Status : callInfo.getStatusString();
*/
}
}
// A call has been added to a conference call
public void callAdded(int callId) { checkCall("callAdded", callId); }
// User answered a call

// New call has arrived
public void callIncoming(int callId)
{ checkCall("callIncoming", callId); }
// Outbound call initiated by the handheld

public void callInitiated(int callid)
{ 


UiApplication.getUiApplication().invokeLater(new Runnable()

          {
            public void run()
            {      

          Status.show( " An Outgoing call hs been made ");
          
      }
          });
          
          
          
          
checkCall("callInitiated", callid);

 }

Also I dont think my Listener is working properly

Do you know what could be the reason ?






Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnan View Post
i cant get you clearly....if your application runs in background and if u want to display phonenumber during incoming call just implement this code in abstract method

Code:
 PhoneCall callInfo = Phone.getActiveCall();

      if ( callInfo != null )
          {      
          Telephone = callInfo.getDisplayPhoneNumber();           
          UiApplication.getUiApplication().invokeLater(new Runnable()
          {
            public void run()
            {
                Status.show("incoming from: "+Telephone);
	    }
          });
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.