BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2007, 05:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barcelona
Model: many
PIN: N/A
Carrier: many
Posts: 10
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Use BB menu on trackball with Canvas?

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I'm porting a Midlet (based on Canvas) to BB. No big problem, except I don't manage to get the BB menu style (primary vs fullmenu) with the menu key and cursor key.

As I understood (i'm newbie in BB API), I MUST use a Screen (from the BB API) to get the fancy BB menu. Right?

In order to achieve this, I try to create ONE GLOBAL invisible MainScreen which will call the correct Canvas to create the menu / paint the UI. The first part work fine.

The problem, is that: How to paint the canvas ?

So, I override the MainScreen.paint(). to clean the background (this works fine). Then, comes the real problem!


I was hopping to just "pass" the graphics to the canvas. but BB use an other class (with the same name).

So, somebody know how to:
- get the BB menu on a normal Canvas? (javax.microedition.lcdui.Canvas)
- Paint a normal Canvas from a MainScreen.paint() ?
- get a valide javax.microedition.lcdui.Graphics inside MainScreen.paint() ?
- an other way to achieve this?

any help / direction is more than welcome,

thanks in advance,

Loda

PS: I found some post talking about Manager. But, as I understood the doc, this does not really help me.
Offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 07:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barcelona
Model: many
PIN: N/A
Carrier: many
Posts: 10
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well,

since I did not found a way, and look like nobody got any ideas,

I made a menu class for canvas and use the KeyListener class to catch the menu key.

don't look the same as the BB menu, but at least i can open a menu on the cursor/menu key.

I'm still intressed in any other solution (the canvas menu solution is kind of ugly)
Offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8707g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Engneer
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, I have the same problem, can you tell me how to use the KeyListener to catch the menu key?

Thank you very much!
Offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 02:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Barcelona
Model: many
PIN: N/A
Carrier: many
Posts: 10
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@dmks:

1. implement KeyListener
2. register it
Application.getApplication().addKeyListener(this);

3. in public boolean keyDown(int keycode,int time){
return true when you want to process the key event your self.

4. don't forget the keyRepeat / up event.

5.
public static int BB_MENU_KEY = 268566528;
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.