BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2007, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: Pearl
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 8
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Debugging on a live device

Please Login to Remove!

I have been having trouble debugging on a live device. Whenever I go to attach to my phone I get a series of pop errors that talk about all the files that are missing. The first one that pops up says that net_rim_app_manager.debug is missing. I read the knowledge base article about this very question. The only thing I got from that which I hadn't done initially was that it said I needed the javax.comm library. It took me a while to find that library because apparently sun no longer provides a windows version of this library, but eventually I found a version and to the best of my knowledge, I installed it correctly. Nontheless I still get the same net_rim_app_manager.debug missing series of pop up errors that I got before. Any advice?
Offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 08:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Surprising as it seems you can usually ignore these errors. It seems the IDE is trying to find debugging information for some system software that you aren't going to want to debug anyway. As long as it doesn't complain about the program/module you're working on you should be fine. Just click on the "ignore" or "don't tell me again" buttons.
Offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 01:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Debugging on a live device

Hello all,

Did any one of you succeeded in debugging on live device ? If yes, can you please guide me ?

Regads
--Mahesh

Last edited by maheshkg : 01-31-2008 at 01:09 AM. Reason: Updation
Offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 03:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Moscow
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.304
Carrier: MTC
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

start IDE
connect your device to PC via USB
compile your application and load on device
in JDE - Debug -- Attach to --Handheld
ignore all dialogs
make breakpoint
start your application on device
Offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 01:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Globe
Posts: 52
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

i followed the steps that you provided on how to debug on a live device.
but i cannot find the icon of the application in my device, so i cannot start the application.
is there something im missing?
my blackberry device is not registered in any BES at this moment because i just recently got it.

please help!

thanks,
jaclyn
Offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 02:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

and you did load the application on your device?
you can do so by using jad/cod download or the javaloader -load command.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 07:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Globe
Posts: 52
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the quick reply.

i didn't load the application, maybe that's why i could not see the icon.

but i have another problem.

i already loaded the application on the device using the blackberry desktop manager. but i cannot start the application because im using a secure api. by the way, im just trying to start the bluetoothdemo that came with the blackberry JDE. any suggestions as to how i could start my application on my device without having to purchase the licenses for the secure api?

any help would be appreciated! thanks again!

Last edited by jacytan : 11-05-2008 at 12:47 AM.
Offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 01:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telcel
Posts: 69
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm having a problem here.

My application is not stopping on breakpoints. Why could this be?

Thanks for the help, didn't know i could be able to test on devices, will help more testing on the actual device than in simulators
Offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 06:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 33
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

How to debug on live device in Eclipse?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.