BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2007, 06:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default uncaught exception in midlet contructor

Please Login to Remove!

This is the message i recieve only on a real blackberry device that i am trying to test my games on. i cant seem to find out what the problem is because it works fine on the emulator but not in the device itself :(

i have also found out that a program called vodafone sat nav also doesnt work and generates the eexact same error!

does anybody have any ideas why its not working? thanks
Offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 127
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello jonneymendoza,

had the same problem a couple of days ago. For me the only thing that helped was to erase all application data with the desktop manager / application loader. It should ask you before, if the data should be backuped - you need to answer this with yes in order to not loos your contacts etc.

My suspection was, that I killed my application by installing a new version just at the moment it was writing to the permanent file store ... But don't really know.

HTH

AxelE
Offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks i will give it a go and see what happens. hope it doesnt erase any contact details or emails has im testing my midlet game on my boss's phone
Offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 08:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 127
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In that case make a backup before hand separately. During the process of cleaning the application loader will ask you again, but it doesn't hurt to make it twice

AxelE
Offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 10:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

aint there a better solution for this? for a user. they have to keep deleting there application data every once in a while to run a midlet? seems strange
Offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 12:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 127
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So far I don't know any other solution. But may be the folks around here?

AxelE
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.