BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2007, 06:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default uncaught exception in midlet contructor

Please Login to Remove!

This is the message i recieve only on a real blackberry device that i am trying to test my games on. i cant seem to find out what the problem is because it works fine on the emulator but not in the device itself :(

i have also found out that a program called vodafone sat nav also doesnt work and generates the eexact same error!

does anybody have any ideas why its not working? thanks
Offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 127
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello jonneymendoza,

had the same problem a couple of days ago. For me the only thing that helped was to erase all application data with the desktop manager / application loader. It should ask you before, if the data should be backuped - you need to answer this with yes in order to not loos your contacts etc.

My suspection was, that I killed my application by installing a new version just at the moment it was writing to the permanent file store ... But don't really know.

HTH

AxelE
Offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks i will give it a go and see what happens. hope it doesnt erase any contact details or emails has im testing my midlet game on my boss's phone
Offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 08:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 127
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In that case make a backup before hand separately. During the process of cleaning the application loader will ask you again, but it doesn't hurt to make it twice

AxelE
Offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 10:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

aint there a better solution for this? for a user. they have to keep deleting there application data every once in a while to run a midlet? seems strange
Offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 12:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berlin
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 127
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So far I don't know any other solution. But may be the folks around here?

AxelE
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.