BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2005, 01:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7520
Posts: 40
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Blackberry Fairy's Basic Form

Please Login to Remove!

Well, the weekend was spent just getting acquainted with the process. I didn't even tackle a JDE version. I figure at this point, I'm going to use the WTK provided by Sun and then try my hand at transferring to the JDE at a later date. Does it makes sense?

Ok, here's my weekend's work [cory, arconsulting, and the rest of you pros, don't laugh lol!]

Let me know if this was somehow helpful. At some point, for my own good, I'm going to see if I can snap some free web hosting and post a simple tutorial so I don't forget how I did this

Code:

import javax.microedition.midlet.*;
import javax.microedition.lcdui.*;

public class TestForm extends MIDlet
{


 public TestForm()
 {
  System.out.println("Make it: TestForm");
 }


 protected void startApp()
  throws MIDletStateChangeException
 {
  //Print message to console when startApp() is called
  System.out.println("startApp()");

  //get the display for this MIDlet
  Display display = Display.getDisplay( this );

  //create a new Form with the title "Form Title"
  Form basicForm = new Form("Form Title");

  //append the string "My basic Form" to the new Form
  basicForm.append("My basic Form");

  // set the current Displayable to the new Form
  display.setCurrent( basicForm );
 }


 protected void destroyApp( boolean unconditional )
  throws MIDletStateChangeException
 {

 }

 protected void pauseApp()
 {
 }
 
}
Offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 01:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Metro NYC
Posts: 175
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Glad to hear you are jumping into the water.

Couple of suggestions:

1 - With BlackBerry, you can develop an app using either the BlackBerry API or straight-J2ME. I prefer to use the BlackBerry API since this allows me to develop an app that looks/acts just like the built-in apps. In your example, you are subclassing MIDlet. This will preclude you from using the BlackBerry API for enhanced functionality (improved persistent storage, UI, etc.)

2 - I prefer to use the JDE since I use the BlackBerry API.
__________________
-- Aric Rosenbaum
BlackBerry consulting, BlackBerry development
www.arconsultinginc.com
BlackBerry consulting and development (RIM SI Partner)
Offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: in a house...
Model: lots
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 1,148
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

AR definately has a point, I on the other hand prefer to do most of my stuff in Eclipse using MIDP2 so that I have some portability in the apps.

There definately are some places where I use nothing but the RIM JDE, like anywhere I know it's not going to need to go onto another device.

Next step (IMHO) is to make a vertical field manager and loop your text 50 times, or, add a menu.

cd.
Offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 09:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7520
Posts: 40
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks guys. Nothing special, but it sure got me closer to the process. Next, I'm going to try my hand at the JDE a bit more.

cheers
Offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 06:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7520
Posts: 40
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So I tried out the JDE. I found it slow whenever it would "compile" a test app. It seems to be building a bunch of stuff. I bet I'm doing something wrong because it is so slow. The wtk is very fast compared to the JDE.
Offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 04:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 7100T
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sounds like you are building all the projects each time,
in the ide goto file and create a new workspace, this will be a tidy empty workspace with none of the example projects in.

get used to using f7 to compile and f5 to run and it should all run faster.

hope this helps,
jon
Offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 05:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8700r
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 221
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The easiest way ( I find ) to develop is to use eclipse for design, and implementation, and the JDE for running and debugging. If you set the "lib" path in eclipse to only use the net_rim_api.jar it mimics the RIM JDE completely and gives you "errors" on the fly ( compared with the RIM JDE). Also if your RIM JDE workspace "Adds" the eclipse workspace files, it makes it easy to switch back and forth.

If there was only a way to launch the debug component of the RIM JDE I could use eclipse exclusively to design,implement,run, and debug. I don't think there is from what I have seen/tried?
Offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 05:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 7100T
Posts: 12
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, in a similar way i use scite ( http://www.scintilla.org/SciTE.html ) for all code editing, i set it to 'always stay on top' so it floats above the bberry jde. it has much better source formatting and tools than the builtin one.
scite has a builtin command line utility but i havent managed to find the command flags so i can target the ide to build and run, if i could i'd never have to switch between apps which would be nice.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.