BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2008, 11:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Error Code 400 while using MDS simulator

Please Login to Remove!

Hi Guys,

I am new to BB development. After reading through everything I have set up my environment where standalone programs are running fine.

Now I am trying to get applications which use HTTP to run. I am using the standard HTTPDemo shipped as samples and for that I have installed the MDS simulator in addition to my JDE. MDS simulator is running fine but I get error code 400 whenever I try to connect to internet using the device simulator.

I am presently behind a corporate firewall and we use proxy settingsfor connecting to internet. I am not sure if thats the problem and if it is so can anyone tell me where and what settigs should be done to get over the problem.

Thanks in Advance,
Vikas
Offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 01:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
richard.puckett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Model: 9020
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 212
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've been getting intermittent 400 errors as well, both on the simulator and on hardware.

Been having a hard-to-repro issue where my server is functioning as well as normal, sends back a 200 response code, and I get a 400 error back from my networking thread.

Looking a little deeper I see this in the MDS logs:

Code:
GET /go/mobile/mds/http/mappings2prop.xsl HTTP/1.0
HTTP/1.0 400 Bad Request
XSL stylesheet not found http://www.blackberry.net/go/mobile/mds/http/mappings2prop.xsl: Resource could not be found
It appears as though MDS is requesting this XSL file and, failing to get it, is failing my HTTP request even though everything else is ostensibly working...?

Has anyone diagnosed this issue further? I'm still trying to figure out what all the MDS log messages mean... Can't tell yet if this is truly a catastrophic event or if I should just throw out 400 response codes and carry on...

Last edited by richard.puckett : 02-01-2008 at 02:01 PM. Reason: grammar
Offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 140
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The issue is likely that you use proxy settings for your internet... you will have to configure the MDS to use some proxy settings... this thread might get you started in the right direction MDS Proxies and PACs
Offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
richard.puckett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Model: 9020
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 212
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your reply!

We don't use proxy settings though; I should have mentioned that before. And like I said, it only happens infrequently and it happens on both the simulator and on hardware.

My leading suspect right now is the network connection: The simulator failures could have occurred during a network outage and the hardware failures seem linked to T-Mobile which has notoriously bad coverage here (everywhere?).

Thinking of making a small test app to just pound on the network and record successes and failures along with signal strength. See if there's any correlation there. That will take some of my copious free time though, so I wanted to see if anyone here has experienced and/or resolved this one already.
Offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 02:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 140
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Richard...

My comments were more for the original poster.. I should have been more clear on that one sorry...

As for you issue, I would suspect that you are on the right track with probably a combination of coverage on the network as well as possible connection outages from your MDS server to the website. Could be that the web server was busy or somehow your MDS couldn't get there.. and this would then result in an error on the mobile
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.