BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2008, 11:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8700v
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question HTML Tables (Produced from ASP.NET pages)

Please Login to Remove!

Hi There,

I'm an ASP.NET/SQL Server developer in an NHS Trust. We're currently attempting to implement hospital reports on Blackberrys.

As a test model, I'm using the 8700v (v4.1.0351 - Platform 2.0.0.143).

I'm reluctant to upgrade the firmware/software as this configuration represents a basic entry level for consultants' Blackberrys in the Trust.

I've been trying to produce some basic tabular information on the test model, but the numbers in the resulting output are separated by single spaces, ie the tabulation is lost. I've tried using a datagrid, a gridview, and a mobile ASP.NET page using an Objectlist control.

The tabulation is correct on all desktop based browsers. I've ensured the allow HTML tables option is selected in the Browser Options.

Does anyone have a suggestion for a resolution?

Thanks
Jim
Offline  
Old 02-06-2008, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,715
Post Thanks: 6
Thanked 115 Times in 82 Posts
Default

Moved to Developer's forum. I think you'll get more answers here.
Offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 140
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Are you using ASP.NET 2.0?? If so have you created a mobile controls entry for the blackberry with IIS.. Livelink - Redirection
Offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8700v
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ASP.NET - The Saga Contunues

Hi there,

Thanks for the advice. I was getting close to wits end! I registered the config file, and the objectlist control is now displaying one column on the Blackberry. I changed the control so it displayed three columns in IE, but I'm not sure how reproducable this is on the Blackberry.

I didn't realise those pages were there on the Blackberry site, so I'll have a browse through those, as well as checking the browser config information in the .NET framework. It may be that the 8700v is too old and stubborn to play!

Can I be cheeky and ask does anyone have a page with instructions on how to config the MDS services Emulator? I've downloaded the 8700 simulator but can't get it to view our intranet pages. Do I need to have a live GPRS account or can I hook it directly into our intranet? At the moment I'm getting bad requests.

Thanks in advance

Jim
Offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 10:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8700v
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default MDS Issue

Hi Folks,

Just to let you know I've resolved the MDS issue. There's a config folder in the MDS install directory. In a file called MDSLogin.conf there's a bunch of references to COMPANY.COM. I've changed this to our domain and now I have http connectivity!
Offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 08:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8700v
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Browser Capabilties - HELP!

Hi there,

I've been trying to display a simple grid on a web page in a Blackberry.
I've used a gridview control which is populated from a database query,
using ASP.NET 2.0.
The target platform is a 8700v (Vodafone model).
I've downloaded the 8700c (Cingular model) which is the closest I can find.
After much frustration and googling I've constructed a Blackberry.Browser file, which with a page including Response.Writes of Browser Capabilities seems to be working with identical results on the Simulator and the Vodafone.

The problem is the table will not display on the Vodafone. The output is fine on the simulator. On the vodafone, the numbers are on three lines separated with single spaces.

I am reluctant to "patch" the vodafone, as it represents the entry level for an unknown number of Blackberries in our organisation.

My Capability list is as follows:

<capability name="browser" value="BlackBerry" />
<capability name="isMobileDevice" value="true" />
<capability name="javascript" value="true" />
<capability name="ecmascriptversion" value="1.3" />
<capability name="version" value="${version}" />
<capability name="majorVersion" value="${major}" />
<capability name="minorVersion" value="${minor}" />
<capability name="supportsCss" value="true" />
<capability name="frames" value="true" />
<capability name="cookies" value="true" />
<capability name="tables" value="true" />
<capability name="HTMLTextWriter" value="true" />
<capability name="RequiresLeadingPageBreak" value="true" />

The User Agents are identical apart from the Vendor:
BlackBerry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/120
(120 - Vodafone)

Am I missing something here, or is patching the only way forward?

Any assistance greatly appreciated.

Jim
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

New Vintage Velocette MAC 350cc Single 1949 Petrol Fuel Gas Tank
$290.0
New Vintage Velocette MAC 350cc Single 1949 Petrol Fuel Gas Tank pictureVintage Mac Tools Starter / Altenator Current Indicator #ET3058
$18.0
Vintage Mac Tools Starter / Altenator Current Indicator #ET3058 pictureVtg MAC Tools X106 5/16" Chrome SAE Socket 3/8" Drive 6 Point Sabina Ohio USA
$7.0
Vtg MAC Tools X106 5/16VINTAGE VELOCETTE MAC MOV GTP KTS MSS REAR FENDER MUDGUARD STEEL REPRODUCTION@kp
$193.19
VINTAGE VELOCETTE MAC MOV GTP KTS MSS REAR FENDER MUDGUARD STEEL REPRODUCTION@kp pictureGW Instruments MacADIOS - Vintage Mac Lab Interface 411
$169.0
GW Instruments MacADIOS - Vintage Mac Lab Interface 411 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.