BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2004, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Repainting part of screen

Please Login to Remove!

Is there a way to update only a portion of the screen instead of repainting the whole screen? I have a screen with many graphics and I have a bit of animation. Basically a small graphic moving around the screen.

I'm using UiApplication.getUiApplication().repaint(), but this seems to repaint the whole screen. Can I just repaint a section?
Offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 04:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Toughie -- This is something I would like to know about since I'm very interested in writing a simple purpose-designed telnet app designed for Canadian relay service, or helping a company make one.

All the J2ME code I've looked at use some kind of a repaint( ) method.

There has got to be a way... maybe Blackberry specific way. The information might be found in a search on RIM's developer forum.
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good news!

I found the information: Partial Repaints
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 11:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8700r
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 221
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The basic idea is you set a clip region ( rectangular ) and whenever you call repaint it will only re-draw the pixels in that clip region.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.