BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2004, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Repainting part of screen

Please Login to Remove!

Is there a way to update only a portion of the screen instead of repainting the whole screen? I have a screen with many graphics and I have a bit of animation. Basically a small graphic moving around the screen.

I'm using UiApplication.getUiApplication().repaint(), but this seems to repaint the whole screen. Can I just repaint a section?
Offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 04:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Toughie -- This is something I would like to know about since I'm very interested in writing a simple purpose-designed telnet app designed for Canadian relay service, or helping a company make one.

All the J2ME code I've looked at use some kind of a repaint( ) method.

There has got to be a way... maybe Blackberry specific way. The information might be found in a search on RIM's developer forum.
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good news!

I found the information: Partial Repaints
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 11:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8700r
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 221
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The basic idea is you set a clip region ( rectangular ) and whenever you call repaint it will only re-draw the pixels in that clip region.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

URBEST? 5pcs 6mm Split Shaft Top Adjustment Rotary Linear Potentiometers B1K
$9.1
URBEST? 5pcs 6mm Split Shaft Top Adjustment Rotary Linear Potentiometers B1K pictureURBEST? 5pcs 2K ohm 3 Terminal 6mm Split Shaft Single Turn Potentiometers
$9.5
URBEST? 5pcs 2K ohm 3 Terminal 6mm Split Shaft Single Turn Potentiometers pictureGarland Range Potentiometer 1955601
$54.95
Garland Range Potentiometer 1955601 picture2 pcs WXD3-13-2W 1K Ohm Multi-Turn Wirewound Potentiometer
$3.68
2 pcs WXD3-13-2W 1K Ohm Multi-Turn Wirewound Potentiometer pictureNEW WXD3-13-2W 47K ohm Rotary Multiturn Wirewound Potentiometer YB
$3.99
NEW WXD3-13-2W 47K ohm  Rotary Multiturn Wirewound  Potentiometer YB picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.