BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2008, 07:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
arunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 229
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Unnecessery Menu getting displayed

Please Login to Remove!

I have a page which shows a list of items. when i select any of them and edit, a new screen comes up. after making changes to the above screen and save it, the screen is getting closed and comes to the first screen. but the menu of the first screen also getting opened at the same time.

This problem is not happening in simulator, it happens only in blackberry device
Offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 12:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8800
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 181
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You need to make sure that the click is consumed on the first screen to prevent the menu from appearing. Assuming you are implementing trackwheelClick then return true to consume the click.
Offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 11:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
arunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 229
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you...

Let me try it...
Offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 07:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
arunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 229
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a screen named ExcludeListScreen...

in which i can add , edit and delete items...

when i add or edit it goes to a new screen ExcludeScreen...
After entering the data when i select save option and click trackball, data getting saved and ExcludeScreen getting close. but the menu in ExcludeListScreen getting poped up...


Also when i select an element in ExcludeListScreen and delete, a popup screen comes there we have to enter the password when i enter the password, data is getting deleted, but again menu getting poped up....


How can i get rid of from this problem?
Offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 02:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
arunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 229
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question

Anybody please give me a solution for this...
Offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 03:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

without looking at your code i'd guess that you handle the click-event but do not consume it. try to return true at the end of eventhandling methods like navigationclick.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 04:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
arunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 229
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This problem happens because of not consuming the event of parent screen or child screen...?
Offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 04:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
arunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 229
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am returning true for navigationClick event...

but still i am getting this problem...

Some other places i am using the same approach but i am not getting this problem there...


Only difference here is , in this screen i am using

import net.rim.device.api.ui.component.ObjectListField;

and all other screens i am using

import net.rim.device.api.ui.component.EditField;
Offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 12:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
arunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 229
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question

is there any way to manually check whether the menu is open and close it?
Offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 07:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
arunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 229
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question

I tried implementing navigation click and trackwheel click methods for the screen

in these cases, even if i press trackball menu will not come up....
menu will come only when i click the menu key

but if i open a screen upon the first screen and close it, the menu pops up...

but i am using a screen above another in many places, but i am not getting this problem... only difference here is i am adding ObjectListField in this screen and for other screen edit field....

I think some other event is directly calling the makemenu method...

someone please suggest a solution for this...

Last edited by arunk : 04-16-2008 at 07:35 AM.
Offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 02:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
arunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 229
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

This problem got solved!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was overriding an onFocusNotify() method in my screen...

I just commented that method and it started working properly...

I dont know why that method invokes the menu when coming back to the previous screen....


Thanks for your valuable suggestions, with the help of which only i found out the solution.....
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.