BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2008, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Nextel
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default TextField

Please Login to Remove!

Hello guys,

I try to implement the RIM TextField (net.rim.device.api.ui.component.TextField) but Eclipse doesn't like to accept it, it says "The type net.rim.device.api.ui.component.TextField is not visible". How can I get this TextField working in my app?
Offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 01:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Mtel
Posts: 150
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You can use the subclasses of the TextField i.e. BasicEditField, RichTextField and you will solve your problem i think.
Offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 09:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 217
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do you add it to the screen???
Offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 09:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Mtel
Posts: 150
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In my practice I add the EditField which as you can see in the standard RIM library extends BasicEditField. I think you can use this field for user input operations. It works fine ! Good luck !
Offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 03:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Nextel
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

thanks for the suggestions. Yes, I added the TextField to the screen.

I did as pa4o85 recommended which could solve the problem. But still a little strange that Eclipse could not handle the TextField though it is a base class of the other ones.

Anyway thanks for the answers!
Offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 03:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Mtel
Posts: 150
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, I am glad that this works, but I think you can not create an instance of the TextField class, because of the fact that the TextField instructor is private, so you cannot use something like this:
Code:
TextField textField = new TextField();
Am I right !?!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Philips Advance Centium Ballast ICN-3TTP40-SC NEW FREE US SHIPPING
$34.95
Philips Advance Centium Ballast ICN-3TTP40-SC NEW FREE US SHIPPING pictureNEW 10 Philips Advance ICN4P32N 120-277V 3 & 4 Lamp T8 Electronic Ballast NOS
$90.0
NEW 10 Philips Advance ICN4P32N 120-277V 3 & 4 Lamp T8 Electronic Ballast NOS pictureSylvania QHE3x32T8/UNV ISN-SC Electronic Ballast 3-Lamp F32T8 F25T8 F17T8
$8.49
Sylvania QHE3x32T8/UNV ISN-SC Electronic Ballast 3-Lamp F32T8 F25T8 F17T8 pictureAdvance 120 Volt Ballast part# REL-2P32-SC
$9.98
Advance 120 Volt Ballast part# REL-2P32-SC pictureAdvance Core & Coil Ballast Kit #72
$18.0
Advance Core & Coil Ballast Kit #72 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.