BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2008, 02:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: US Cellular
Posts: 82
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default JavaLoader reset device

Please Login to Remove!

Every other time I copy my cod to the BB it will soft reset the device. What is odd is the every other thing part. I could understand if it was necessary, and thus reset every time. But every other time doesn't make sense.

Is it supposed to work that way?

Dan
Offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 03:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

are you using an autostart part?
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 07:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

I have seen similar behavior, though not ever other time, more kind of random. I have a theory that for apps where there is no reason to reset (which aren't autostart, don't user persistence etc), if objects created while the app is running haven't been garbage collected and/or there are references to objects defined by the app, the easiest way to untangle everything is to restart. Just a wild ass guess though.
Offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 07:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: US Cellular
Posts: 82
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm not using autostart. The app is using only unrestricted classes, so it isn't even signed. hrbuckley, that sounds about right. I always exit the app before I transfer the new file over, so perhaps on occasion (the first time) garbage collection is done right away. Mostly it is every other time, although it has been every time that last several times.

Just out of curiosity, is there any fast-turnaround way of testing an app? The simulator takes such a long time to start up, and if the device resets that takes close to a minute. The fastest is running it on the device as long as it doesn't reset first.
Offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 11:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
richard.puckett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Model: 9020
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 212
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No "fast-turnaround" solutions that I'm aware of. I think the only answer is to accept the fact that it will take longer to load an app onto a BlackBerry (much longer if the signing servers are down).

Invest in a good logging mechanism so you can just log the hell out of everything during development. That will at least minimize the number of round trips you'll need to make.
__________________
Do your homework and know how to ask a good question.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.