BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2008, 02:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Informatico
Posts: 56
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default clear screen

Please Login to Remove!

Hi

I have a screen with a HorizontalFieldManager control, after fill it, I want to clear the control or the screen for fill the control with other data. How can I do it?

Thanks, Oscar
Offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 04:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

void delete(Field field)
Removes a field from this manager.
void deleteAll()
Removes all fields from this manager.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 10:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 217
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if you use delete(Field field) I suggest to verify before if the Field exists.

Otherwise the program will throw an exception
Offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 06:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
baran_khan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 9500
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 110
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Deleting the content from a field manager will be successful only when you are not bothered about menu implementation. If you have to implement different menus depending upon the screen, then you better use pushscreen() method to perform the same. That will remove the currentScreen from the stack and push a new screen on the top.

I faced this problem and now know the consequences....
Offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 07:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baran_khan View Post
That will remove the currentScreen from the stack and push a new screen on the top.
the first statement is wrong, the second correct.
pushScreen will push a new screen on top of the stack, all other screens remain untouched.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 07:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
baran_khan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 9500
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 110
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for correcting me....i am very much new here and m trying to learn new things...

But I guess the void delete() and deleteall() methods will not help the cause....as that will cause trouble when we think of the menus....correct me if I am wrong!

thanks again!!!

Last edited by baran_khan : 04-29-2008 at 07:03 AM.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.