BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2005, 08:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 7730
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Push application deployment & firewall

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

We have a non-browser push application which works fine on the simulator. It listens on a specific port and receives messages we send to it with an http post.

We've now deployed it to a test handheld and we're trying it through the BES. The BES seems to receive the packets and send them out to the handheld (seems to - little blue data arrows appear on BB), but nothing is picked up by our app.

The firewall, we notice, is off in the simulator, but on for the handheld. Could this be the problem? Has anyone else who has successfully deployed their push apps had this problem? We seem unable to turn off the firewall in either case.

We've tried varying the port the app listens on with no success.

All help appreciated.

Mark
Offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What is the virtual port that the handheld is listening to? The firewall might be blocking the port number if it is too low. On a push app that I wrote, the port# had to be greater than 6000 to work properly with the firewall
Offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 10:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: Lots
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 21
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Does your application prompt to allow for the network connection? If not see here: http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgec...00455&vernum=0

Can you verify if the opening connection was opened successfully or if data arrived? Also ensure you are listening for data via MDS and not a direct TCP/IP connection by specifying ;deviceside=false at the end of your URL.

DaHunter
Offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 03:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7290
Posts: 13
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If I am understaning you correctly, I have encountered that problem once.

A suggested solution:
When you click to run the application.
1- push the screen without making any calls to your server,
2- Once Push is done, make a POST/GET call to your server name only.

A firewall popup dialog box will appear, check mark the option that will alow the dialog box not show again ( not sure which one... but there are 2 checkboxes... its not hard to see which one ) then you will click on [allow this connection]

Example: I have created a login screen. The screen is pushed on top. When a user clicks on the login button, 2 calls are made, initial call is to the server name only(*) second call would be to my login URL.
(* on intial use of the application, the dialog box will appear only once.)

Hope that answers your question... if not clarify your question, and maybe I will have an answer.......

matwi
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.