BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2008, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default DrawTextParam Error

Please Login to Remove!

Folks,

I am trying to back-compile a 4.2.1 project on 4.0. I've resolved almost all of the "backward-compatible" issues, but I'm stuck on one problem.

All references to Graphics.drawText() result in the following error:

***
cannot access net.rim.device.api.ui.DrawTextParam
class file for net.rim.device.api.ui.DrawTextParam not found
***

Now, here is the fun part: there is no reference to DrawTextParam anywhere in the code, nor can I find any info on this in the BBY API reference.

Anybody ever see anything like this?

One other note: one of my colleagues checked out my code and compiled on his 4.0 JDE with no issues.
Offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 06:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 950
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 185
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What version of the JDE are YOU working with?
Offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 06:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

4.0, like I said in the original post.
Offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 07:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Just to be clear (and sorry for not being more specific in the original post):

Code was originally developed under JDE 4.2.1. It has been compiled under 4.3 and 4.5 also.

Code is now being back-leveled to run under 4.0, using the JDE 4.0. All other back-compatibility issues have been resolved.

The error is a compiler error. Since another 4.0 installation compiles the code correctly, we are likely looking at a installation issue of some type.

Just hoping that someone else has tripped over the issue and has an explanation.
Offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
richard.puckett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Model: 9020
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 212
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It sounds like your JDE is referencing some artifacts. Try to clean everything out (manually verify that there are no .class files under your workspace) and then recompile.
__________________
Do your homework and know how to ask a good question.
Offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 10:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

There are no artifacts. I'm working in a completely clean directory. I deleted and re-created the project and workspace files. I also completely deleted, wiped, and reinstalled the 4.0 JDE package. I also experimentally deleted the Eclipse plug-in package, on the chance that this was contributing to the issue.

So far, no luck. Any ideas?
Offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 04:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Update on this issue: DrawTextParam was added to the JDE in 4.2.1. This is the JDE that was originally used to compile the project.

A new 4.0 branch was made, all project artificat files were removed (COD, JAR, RAPC, etc), and the workspace and project files were deleted and re-created from scratch.

No joy.

Then all BBY JDE's were removed from the system (4.0, 4.1, 4.2.1, 4.3, 4.5). The 4.0 JDE was then reinstalled. The project directories were again completely cleaned and the workspace project files deleted and re-created from scratch.

Still, same exact error.

I'm at the end of my rope. Nobody else has seen this type of situation when trying to go back-level?
Offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 12:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Model: 8310
OS: 4.2
Carrier: rogers
Posts: 68
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Has this problem been solved?

Hi there,

I got this problem too! Have you got any solution?

My case is:
the code was originally written with JDE 3.7 and 4.0.2.
They were compiled on one computer, which has JDE 4.0.2, 4.1, 4.2.1, 4.5.
The Java is 1.5.0_09

Now I copied them to my laptop, then I could not get them compiled!

Thanks for any reply!

William
Offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 02:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

not sure if it is the case here, but there are two issues that come up from time to time:
- the JDK to build with is 1.4, in eclipse/netbeans you have to set this in the project settings
- if there is an error within a draw-method it can not be targeted by the compiler. something similar happens with menu-methods. check the code manually.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 05:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 98
PIN: N/A
Carrier: yes
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Code is now being back-leveled to run under 4.0, using the JDE 4.0. All other back-compatibility issues have been resolved.

The error is a compiler error. Since another 4.0 installation compiles the code correctly, we are likely looking at a installation issue of some type.
Offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 11:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,644
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Thanks for chiming in. I posted the original question in July and got no usefull responses.

The actual issue turned out to be the JDK version - 4.0.2 uses an earlier JDK and will blow up unless you edit the IDE.BAT file and set the environment to point to the earlier version.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.