BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2008, 08:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile uk
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Custom Push

Please Login to Remove!

Hi all, i am trying to push data from php & my sql to my t-mobile curve 8310.

I have found the RIM tutorial, but it ask for a bes server address!!

how can find the address
Offline  
Old 07-05-2008, 08:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 237 Times in 219 Posts
Default

It sounds like you don't have a BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES).
You'd need BES to push data/apps to your device.
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 07-05-2008, 08:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile uk
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Cheers,

How can i create an app that will allow me to to pass a String to a Php for seach purposes

i have the JDE & netbeans, however i am a N00b to java programming.

the best example is the Blackberry wiki app!!
Offline  
Old 07-05-2008, 07:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

If you aren't connected to a BES and want to use MDS Push you can use either Blackberry Unite or Blackberry Enterprise Server Express

Other options are to have the Blackberry open an TCP socket to the server, or poll a web connection.
Offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 08:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile uk
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrbuckley
If you aren't connected to a BES and want to use MDS Push you can use either Blackberry Unite or Blackberry Enterprise Server Express

Other options are to have the Blackberry open an TCP socket to the server, or poll a web connection.
I have created a php site, my problem is our field engineers use the BB's to input data and research and problems. Resulting in them having to constantly navigate through numerous bookmarks.

How could I get icons on the homepage that open the browers and load the php page?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 11:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duttydea View Post
Wirelessly posted



I have created a php site, my problem is our field engineers use the BB's to input data and research and problems. Resulting in them having to constantly navigate through numerous bookmarks.

How could I get icons on the homepage that open the browers and load the php page?

Thanks
Have a look at this thread: ...60545-web-shortcuts-last.html

If you have a BES or Unite server, a more elegant solution would be to push a start page. There is an example using Perl and MySQL at Jan-Piet Mens blog http://blog.fupps.com/... that could be ported to PHP. But it does require a BES or Unite server.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.