BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2008, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default JDE unable to find dlls

Please Login to Remove!

Hey guys, I just installed the blackberry JDE and I'm new to blackberry programming. For some reason, when I try to run the JDE it won't start up saying that it can't find the RIMIDEWin32Util.dll. I am running 64 bit vista (which, I'm assuming is the source of the problem) I looked in the research in motion folder on my computer and had no trouble finding the RIMIDEWin32Util.dll file so I'm pretty stumped. Any suggestions?

Note: I tried uninstalling and installing the blackberry jde and it didn't help so I don't think its a corrupted file

Last edited by akhalsa : 07-05-2008 at 07:45 PM.
Offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 10:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Bell Canada
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Talk about funny! I was googling for this exact same error yesterday morning with absolutely no hits on the RIMIDEWin32Util.dll - I'm having the same issue as you, and to no surprise I'm also running Vista 64-bit. So it's safe to assume that the JDE doesn't support 64-bit machines yet.

I also tried running it in some of the compatibility modes to no avail..

Has anyone got the JDE working on a 64-bit O/S?

...n
Offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 10:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern IL
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,076
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Did you also download the Sun Java SDK?

I believe this is a requirement for BlackBerry JDE to work.
Offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 12:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Bell Canada
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, I've got JDK 1.5 and 1.6 installed, tried altering path statements for either/or - no difference. The error reflects a native windows DLL - which I'm assuming doesn't like the 64-bit OS..
Offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 02:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.247
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 209
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Don't use the 64-bit java SDK. The JDE needs the 32-bit version. I am using jdk-6u6-windows-i586-p.exe with WinXP64.
Offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 01:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was receiving the same error as you with Vista 64bit.

Switched ide.bat to use a 32bit jdk and it works fine now.
Offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 05:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default how do I edit ide.bat?

I'm experiencing the same problem as above and my ide.bat contains the following:

start javaw -Xmx256M -DRIM_RUNTIME=..\lib -DRIM_BIN=..\bin -jar IDE.jar

I couldn't figure out what specifically points to the 64 bit jre.
Offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 01:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Make sure path to JDK (C:\...\jdk1.5.0_14\bin) appears before other paths (e.g. sys32) which may contain java.exe
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.