BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2008, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8800
Carrier: n/a
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question The Version and Vendor that I've set do not show up.

Please Login to Remove!

I have an application that I've created that's working just fine on my real blackberry right now, the only problem is that the version and vendor that I've set do now show up correctly. My blackberry seems to think the application is version 0.0 and the vendor is <unknown>.
I have changed the property in my project to the Version and Vendor that I want.
I've created an ALX file, and it seems to have the correct information in it when I look at it in notepad. Here is my ALX file...
Code:
<loader version="1.0">
	<application id="CSTmobile">
		<name >
			CST Mobile
		</name>
		<description >
			View CST information on your blackberry phone.
		</description>
		<version >
			1.0
		</version>
		<vendor >
			(I use a real name here)
		</vendor>
		<copyright >
			Copyright (c) 2008 (Again, I use a real name here)
		</copyright>
		<fileset Java="1.24">
			<directory >
				
			</directory>
			<files >
				CSTmobile.cod

			</files>

		</fileset>

	</application>

</loader>
To download my app, people go to a link on their mobile phones, and there is a hyperlink there that points to the CSTmobile.jad file. When they click on it, it says something like "would you like to replace cst mobile 0.0 with cst mobile 0.0".

I use JDE 4.1.0.185 by research in motion.

All I can think of is I'm created the ALX file at the wrong time or signing it incorrectly or perhaps the metadata in the COD file is false.
Thank you for any help.
Offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 12:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8800
Carrier: n/a
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have currently fixed the situation by manually changing the .jad file. I added/replaced these lines...
Code:
MIDlet-Version: 1.0
MIDlet-Name: (app name here...)
MIDlet-Description: View company information on your blackberry phone
MIDlet-Vendor: (Company name here)
So now it says it's version 1.0 and has the appropriate vendor. Now I just have to change the .jad file every time I have a new release for this product. It seems like their should be an easier way.
Offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 02:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the jad-file is not deleted when you rebuild your project - don't ask me why, one of the many glitches the JDE features. if you delete it prior to your change and rebuild there will be a new one with the correct version.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.