BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2008, 04:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 134
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Sample Code for PhoneListener needed

Please Login to Remove!

Can someone please upload the code for PhoneListener no matter however abstract it is ?

It would be fine if it could just detect whenever a call is being made

I just want to see a working version as the samples that I have built dont detect any Phone calls at all

It would also be fine if you could send just the COD file
Offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 04:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i just stripped some test application from the specific stuff, put both into the same package.

Code:
import net.rim.blackberry.api.phone.Phone;
import net.rim.device.api.system.Application;

public class OutgoingIntercept extends Application {

	/**
	 * @param args
	 */
	public static void main(String[] args) {		
		new OutgoingIntercept().enterEventDispatcher();
	}
	
	public OutgoingIntercept(){
		Phone.addPhoneListener(new OutgoingInterceptPhoneListener());
	}
Code:
import net.rim.blackberry.api.phone.AbstractPhoneListener;

public class OutgoingInterceptPhoneListener extends AbstractPhoneListener {
	
	public void callInitiated(int callId) {		
		System.out.println("initiated");
	}
}
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 06:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 134
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello Simon

Thanks very much for helping

So the name of the COD file should be the same as that of the package , isn't it so ?
Offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 07:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the cod name is not dependent on the package name, no.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 12:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 134
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello Simon

Thanks for your very generous help so far

Can you please say what should be the Project properties one I have created the Java files ?

Also if I dont specify an icon , will it still be visible ?
Offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 134
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Alo if I am implementing it as a simple Background listener app , would it mean that no outputs like System.out or Dialog.alert values are displayed to the user ?

Will I have to create Alternate CLDC Application Entry Point application to achieve that purpose ?
Offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 03:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i would suggest that you read the developer guides. 90% of your questions are covered there.

- if you don't specifiy an icon it will show a generic black icon, similar to the old DOS icons.
- if you make your project autorun (and systemmodule) it will not show an icon on the homescreen
- sysout is never shown to the user
- to interact with the UI extend UiApplication
- to show a dialog synchronize on the eventlock or use invokelater
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 04:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 134
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Simon

Can you please say which Developer Guide should I refer to ?

All the guide I referred to seems to need previous knowledge of BlackBerry devlopment

Can you specify the most basic and starting one if possible ?
Offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 06:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

developer guides

you can also take a look at jonathans samples
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 10:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 134
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello Simon

I had tried this sample earlier on

BlackBerry - BlackBerry | Wireless Handheld Devices, Software & Services from Research In Motion (RIM)

But I couldn't make it work for me

Can you please say what should be the Project properties for this sample ?

Shouldn't have I been able to acess those call bck methods straightforward ?
Offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 11:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 134
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Basically this is what hope you can help me with

Based on the BlackBerry - BlackBerry | Wireless Handheld Devices, Software & Services from Research In Motion (RIM) example can you please show me how a call initiated event is caught and that activity is shown back to the user

What will be the Project properties I need to set to achieve that ?
Offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 03:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 7290
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

For that particular source, I think you need to have it run on start up. Other than that, it seems to work fine for me, I just stepped through it on the debugger. What seems to be the problem?
Offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 07:02 AM   #13 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 8900
OS: 4.3-4.6.1
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 39
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Try this

No. There is no need to set properties to 'run on startup', but in that case you will need to start the app yourself.

An example:
Code:
public class Test_01 extends Application implements PhoneListener  {
    private Screen_01 fScreen;

    public Test_01() {
        Phone.addPhoneListener(this);
        fScreen = new Screen_01();
   }

    public static void main(String[] args) {
        //create a new instance of the application
        //and start the application on the event thread
        Test_01 app = new Test_01();
        
        app.enterEventDispatcher();
        System.out.println("App started");
    }
}
// now few of the PhoneListener implementations:
//...              
public void callAnswered(int arg0) {
        System.out.println("EVENT: callAnswered");
        Ui.getUiEngine().pushGlobalScreen(fScreen, 4, UiEngine.GLOBAL_QUEUE);
    }
//...
public void callDisconnected(int arg0) {
        System.out.println("EVENT: callDisconnected");
        Ui.getUiEngine().popScreen(fScreen);
    }
//...
now create the screen:
Code:
final public class Screen_01 extends PopupScreen {
    public Screen_01() {
        super(new VerticalFieldManager());

        // you can write whatever you want, i'll just draw a bitmap :)
        Bitmap fBitmap = new Bitmap(20, 50);
        Graphics fGraphics  = new Graphics(fBitmap);
        fGraphics.drawLine(0, 0, 20, 50);
        
        add(new BitmapField(fBitmap));
    }
}
Happy coding

Last edited by myraddin : 09-08-2008 at 07:04 AM. Reason: Post method made by mistake
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.