BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2008, 09:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 82
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HTML TextBox Default Input

Please Login to Remove!

Hello,

I've written a asp.net web application for the BlackBerry browser. I've included several forms that have a text box used for inputting numeric data. I'm trying to make is so that one doesn't have to press the alt button when entering the numbers - just like when dialing a telephone number from the home screen of the device. Is there a way so that when the cursor is in the text box the device defaults to inserting numbers? Does the possible solution include javascript?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Model: 9700
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 92
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The following might help: WAP Tutorial
__________________
http://www.ryannickel.com for my awesomeness!
Offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 03:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 82
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your suggestion rnickel. I tested putting in a input tag as follows:

<input name="Age" size="15" format="*N"/><br/>

Unfortunately, this didn't work as expected. Even if I changed the emulation mode of the browser (followed by completely exiting the browser) the input still didn't default to numerical values.

I may be wrong, but I'm not sure WAP plays a part in this. We're using a BES server and the site is internal on our intranet. I believe WAP requires a WAP gateway and I don't think there's one between the MDS service on the BES and our internal IIS server. Does this sound right?

Either way, thanks again for your suggestion.
Offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telcel
Posts: 69
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Man, your gonna love, as this morning i had the same issue and found the solution

create a style sheet on your project, or add this style tags

Code:
input.format_n 
{
	-wap-input-format: "*N";
	-wap-input-required: false;
}
And just link your input to the class format_n and woala, just make sure your browser support the use of style sheets
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.