BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2008, 09:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 82
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HTML TextBox Default Input

Please Login to Remove!

Hello,

I've written a asp.net web application for the BlackBerry browser. I've included several forms that have a text box used for inputting numeric data. I'm trying to make is so that one doesn't have to press the alt button when entering the numbers - just like when dialing a telephone number from the home screen of the device. Is there a way so that when the cursor is in the text box the device defaults to inserting numbers? Does the possible solution include javascript?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Model: 9700
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 92
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The following might help: WAP Tutorial
__________________
http://www.ryannickel.com for my awesomeness!
Offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 03:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 82
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your suggestion rnickel. I tested putting in a input tag as follows:

<input name="Age" size="15" format="*N"/><br/>

Unfortunately, this didn't work as expected. Even if I changed the emulation mode of the browser (followed by completely exiting the browser) the input still didn't default to numerical values.

I may be wrong, but I'm not sure WAP plays a part in this. We're using a BES server and the site is internal on our intranet. I believe WAP requires a WAP gateway and I don't think there's one between the MDS service on the BES and our internal IIS server. Does this sound right?

Either way, thanks again for your suggestion.
Offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telcel
Posts: 69
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Man, your gonna love, as this morning i had the same issue and found the solution

create a style sheet on your project, or add this style tags

Code:
input.format_n 
{
	-wap-input-format: "*N";
	-wap-input-required: false;
}
And just link your input to the class format_n and woala, just make sure your browser support the use of style sheets
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.