BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2008, 07:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: any career
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Open tunnel - failure exception

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

When I'm trying to open http connection Connector.open(url)
I'm getting Open tunnel - failure exception in all vodafone UK Blackberry 4.2 devices.
Although, everything works fine in others careers.

Anybody knows what is the problem?

Pavel
Offline  
Old 09-15-2008, 11:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Open Tunnel Failure - Did you ever get a resolution?

Hi,

Did you ever get a resolution or have a source that can help? I am developing and app and have the same issue.

hope you can help.....

Kevin M
Offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 12:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
arunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 229
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how you are connecting to intenet?

BES, BIS TCP or WAP?

depends on that you have to specify some parameters...
Offline  
Old 12-18-2008, 04:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 8110
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Open Tunnel Failure

Hi,
i am also facing same issue of "Open Tunnel Failure" exception while i try to open connection using KSOAP Apis which are for opening HTTP communication.

My carrier is Airtel. When I check in my 8110 blackberry in Options->Advanced Options->TCP settings, I see APN name as WAP.Cingular. Is that a problem?

Please advise.

Thanks
Offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
arunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 229
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool

If you are using a GPRS Connection try with BIS settings.. It works for me.
Offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 03:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi!
I m trying to make http request through my application, and getting tunnel timed out as response. Carrier is Airtel.Airtel's Tech support tell me that they do not support any 3rd application on Blackberry devices irrespective of the connection type that u use, whether its BIS, BES or anything else.
Is there any other method to access internet through my BB application using Airtel?
Does anybody have any idea?
Offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 09:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: developer
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi ,

I am also facing the same problem. I have created a test application which consumes the public web service using ksoap. This works fine with simulator but with devics fails. The error message "Tunnel timeout". I am using Airtel as carrier and dont want to use BES.

Regards,
Amit P
Offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 11:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Post Thanks: 20
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Start by viewing this video: Media Library
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.