BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2008, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 87
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default HTTP_USER_AGENT - How to declare browser type?

Please Login to Remove!

Hi folks,

I'm not sure I'm asking this question correctly, but does anyone know how to make a "browser field" declare its browser type to the server (in the Java code).

I'm messing with an example distributed with the JDE:
...BlackBerry JDE 4.1.0\samples\com\rim\samples\device\blackberry\br owser\BrowserFieldSampleApplication.java

It works fine for when I use the "www.google.com" url. However, when I try to access one of the pages on my internal site (mySite.com/somePage.htm), it gives me an error message instead of content:

"Couldn't process request as browser type (HTTP_USER_AGENT) is not specified."

So I'm looking through the Developer Guide and the RIM Device Java Library to find a way to explicitly set the HTTP_USER_AGENT / browser type. Two methods look promising to me, but I haven't gotten either of them to work yet. Can anyone look at these and tell me if either one looks like I'm on the right track? (Exposing a great deal of ignorance here ).

Code:
myRenderingSession.getRenderingOptions().setProperty( RenderingOptions.CORE_OPTIONS_GUID, RenderingOptions.USER_AGENT, "Blackberry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102");
Code:
myRequestHeaders.setProperty( "HTTP_USER_AGENT", "Blackberry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102");
Side Note: The page on my internal website which is giving me the error message works fine when I access it from the regular blackberry browser. It only gives me the error when I'm trying to access it from a "browser field" in my code. So I'm pretty darn sure that my problem is in my Java code.

Thanks much, if anyone can give me a pointer
Offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 87
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Found it

I'm still not 100% sure if I'm doing this exactly correctly but it appears to be working.

javax.microedition.io.HttpConnection

setRequestProperty()

Code:
myHttpConnection.setRequestProperty( HttpProtocolConstants.HEADER_USER_AGENT, "Blackberry8700/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102" );
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.