BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2008, 07:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 18
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default manipulating Position of Manager

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

Can anyone please tell me how to manipulate position of a HorizontalFieldManager on the Screen.

I mean, just like we can manipulate positions of Fields using setPosition(),
how can we do that with a Manager.

What I have to do is, I've added all the components in one HorizontalFieldManager, and I want to place this Manager exactly at the center of the screen.

I have used the following code:-

mainVfm = new VerticalFieldManager(FIELD_VCENTER|FIELD_HCENTER);

But,It displays the manager Horizontally centered only.


With regards,
Flavian
Offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 07:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Manager inherits setPosition from Field. As does (Main)Screen.
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 12:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 18
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I tried setPosition() method.

It has protected access. HorizontalFieldManager cannot have access to that method.

Is there any other way out?

With Regards,
Flavian
Offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 01:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Extend HorizontalFiedManager to access setPosition method. You need to create another public method, say setCoordinates() and call setPosition() from within that method.

Code:
public class MyHorizontalFieldManager extends HorizontalFieldManager {

    public void setCoordinates(int x,int y){
        setPosition(x,y);
    }

}
But I don't know if calling setPosition() would actually place it at the specified co-ordinates. I don't really trust HorizontalFieldManager.You need to try it. If not, you might want to make your own FieldManager.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.