BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2008, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8310
Carrier: Informatico
Posts: 56
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default problem with httpconnection

Please Login to Remove!

Hi, I have this code to read a webservice:

String url = Globales.CadenaConexion + "service.asmx/ObtenerInformaticaEmailsXML";
//url = url + "?operario=" + operario_actual;
http = (HttpConnection);
//http.setRequestProperty("Content-Type","text/xml; charset=utf-8");

os = http.openOutputStream();
//params = "operario=" + operario_pub;

int respuesta_servidor = http.getResponseCode();
if (respuesta_servidor==200) {

the problem is that the variable respuesta_servidor = 500 and if I execute manually in the internet explorer using the button invoke the webservice ObtenerInformaticaEmailsXML and goes correctly, the url is correct too. What can be the problem?

Thanks, Oscar
Old 08-08-2008, 07:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Model: 8900
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 98
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


So I'd like more information (remember, more is always better!).

- What is "Globales.CadenaConexion" ? Presumably, that's the beginning of the URL, but there are some interesting things that even that string can indicate, so it's better to show us exactly what it contains (for instance, if it looks like "", the final URL will look like "", which is probably not what you're hoping for).

- Does this code fail on a BlackBerry simulator? The simulator will not connect to the Internet unless the MDS simulator is also running on the same machine. In addition, the MDS simulator must have the same proxy/firewall settings as IE. If you launch the MDS simulator, and then launch the BlackBerry Simulator, then try to use the BlackBerry browser to go to some website such as, you should see the results on the BlackBerry simulator, which indicates that the MDS simulator is set up correctly.

- Does this code fail on a real BlackBerry device? The device must be fully activated with the service provider and capable of accessing the Internet (say, through the browser).

Check the following regarding HTTP response codes:

List of HTTP status codes - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


Karl G. Kowalski
Owns a RAZR
Develops for BlackBerry
So next phone will iPhone 3G!

Copyright 2004-2016
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.