BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2008, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8800
Carrier: n/a
Posts: 14
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question What is the best way to have two versions of one application on one BlackBerry?

Please Login to Remove!

I have developed an application that's in production. Well, I just updated the program and would like to test it my phone, but I don't want to replace the current version that's already on my phone. Is there a way to get both the "ready for production" version and the "testing" version on my phone at the same time? Will I have to make another project just for the testing version or what? Thank you.

Oh, Ixxx8217;m getting these programs by way of a JAD file online.

Last edited by Onosa : 08-07-2008 at 11:26 AM. Reason: Fixed spelling and typos.
Old 08-07-2008, 03:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 7103
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 259
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

you'll have to ensure that the class names are different as the device has one JVM that hosts them. You'd probably need another project for that yes.
Old 08-07-2008, 03:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern IL
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,076
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have found if you rename the JAD file, it sometimes works. Or rename and edit the name inside the jad file

Copyright 2004-2016
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.