BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2008, 06:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: pearl
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problems with httpConnection

Please Login to Remove!

Hi!

I would like knowing some stuff about httpConnections :

Ive got developed an application in java (j2me) and it works fine in every device which support jsr-82 and internet support (3g, etc....) the problem is, Ive created a ported solution with JDE 4.3 and the midlet has been build with success. I download the midlet, and its fine but....when I try to use internet operations, firstly the device asks me for permissions, but the blackberry turns like blocked and I need to turn off it to be able to restart the application again; I mean, when the application tries to connect to internet, I can notice the prompt message about if I want to allow internet connections but it does not follow, it keeps in this message and it does not allow me to change the permissions to "Yes", then I need to restart the device....can anyone tell me what can be happening? in the MDS it works so fine; thx in advance to everyone


kind regards


other thing : does anyone know how to delete the rms in the emulator?? I would like knowing about that, thx in advance too
Offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 08:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

regarding your first message: this sounds like an error unrelated to your app.
you can try (as a workaround) to set the permissions manually in the options (options / advanced options / applications)
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 02:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: pearl
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 7
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi again!

The second problem about the emulator is fixed and Ive got it; the first one, Ive made debug with the blackberry simulator and it works perfectly at the simulator; Ive put the permissions to allow every operation but the result is the same, when the application is going to connect to internet and the blackberry (the real device) asks to me to permissions Ive to restart it because if not, nothing works......please can anyone tell me what can be happening? maybe threads problem? what should I do? Thx in advance

UPDATED : Ive read about BES.....the application has to work with a .NET webservice, an asp based web service, so I dont really know if there is a problem with that point or if it doesnt matter

LAST UPDATED : ive read about MDS.....is it compulsory to use connectivity since a j2me application? I mean, I need to connect to a webservice and I use MDS at the simulator....so Do I really need MDS to communicate with my application?

Kind regards

Last edited by Alfury : 08-11-2008 at 04:27 AM.
Offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 07:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Model: 8900
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 98
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi!

"Updated": BES (BlackBerry Enterprise Service) is mainly used by enterprise organizations to manage their corporate users' access to their internal networks (email, etc.) via their BlackBerry devices. A BES won't cure your issues.

"Last Updated": The MDS is a part of the BES, and it manages some of the Internet access that the BES controls/restrains/monitors (for instance, if you have a BlackBerry associated with your corporate network to allow you to read your email while you're stuck in traffic, and if your corporate IT policies restrict your access to myspace.com from your office desktop, your enterprise-activated BlackBerry may also be unable to access myspace.com). The MDS Simulator is required by the BlackBerry simulators for them to access the Internet through your desktop, but a BlackBerry device (one that isn't part of an enterprise corporate network through a corporate BES) access the Internet via the service provider's network, or via something called the BlackBerry Internet Service (BIS). If your J2ME application requires network access, either the device is connected through a BES (+ MDS) or the service provider or a BIS. So the answer to

"do I really need MDS to communicate with my application?"

is: You need a device that has a working internet connection, which may or may not be an MDS depending on what the owner of the device has configured.

There are a number of ways to debug a BlackBerry application running on a real device: you can hook up a USB cable between your desktop machine and the device and use the JDE to establish a debug-via-wire connection to the device (check the Debug menu). You can also spew strings to the Event Log, and then review them after the fact (either on the device or by downloading the log to your desktop). I tend to favor the second suggestion (I have never met a debugger I really really loved), but your mileage may vary.

Good luck!

Cheers,

karl
__________________
Karl G. Kowalski
---------------
Owns a RAZR
Develops for BlackBerry
So next phone will be........an iPhone 3G!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.