BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2005, 04:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Model: 7290
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool Building error HelloWorld

Please Login to Remove!

Hello,
I'm a beginner in BB programming, and it seams difficult to build the HelloWorld code.
I first locate in the PATH the javac.exe, which was making the first error.

Now I have the following message. Is that really due to the missing Border.Class?

An exception has occurred in the compiler (1.5.0_04). Please file a bug at the Java Developer Connection (http://java.sun.com/webapps/bugreport) after checking the Bug Parade for duplicates. Include your program and the following diagnostic in your report. Thank you.
com.sun.tools.javac.code.Symbol$CompletionFailure: file net\rim\device\internal\ui\Border.class not found
Error!: Error: java compiler failed: javac -source 1.3 -target 1.1 -g -O -d D:\DOCUME~1\tb\LOCALS~1\Temp\rapc_258679e9.dir -bootclasspat ...
Error while building project

If anyone can help, thanks in advance

Thierry
Offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 04:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Model: 7100
Posts: 19
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try removing java 1.5 and installing 1.4 instead. The BB JDE gets cranky with 1.5.
Offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 10:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Model: 7290
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Many Thanks

It works !
Thanks a lot, but I think this was just the beginning of my travel in hell to program with BB. It doesn't seems to be trivial.

Thierry
Offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Model: 7100
Posts: 19
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it has it's own precious "please kill me with a shovel" moments but it's way more pleasant to develop for than most handheld devices

Java makes it all a lot sweeter
Offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 03:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Model: 7290
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question It carry one

I must admit, I'm not an expert in Java dev. I'm more familar with PHP/MySQL et HTML, excuse me for that but Also VB, and some C. That's probably on of the reasons for these troubles. I have to get used to the system.

Now I have troubles to install the program on the BlackBerry (7290). Any application I install claim for Missing Ressource when I launch it. For example, if I install TicTacToe, the message is:
"com.rim.samples.device.ressource.TicTacTeoRes ".

I looked at the .alx file as said in the manual, but even if I ask the IDE to create it, it doesn't look ok.

<loader version="1.0">
<application id="com_rim_tictactoe">
<name >
Tic Tac Toe Sample
</name>
<description >

</description>
<version >
0.9
</version>
<vendor >
Research In Motion Ltd.
</vendor>
<copyright >
Copyright (c) 2005 Research In Motion Ltd.
</copyright>
<fileset Java="1.17">
<directory >
</directory>
<files >
com_rim_tictactoe.cod
</files>
</fileset>
</application>
</loader>

Knowing that my Workspace is :
BlackBerry JDE 4.0.2/samples/MyTest.jdw

The Folders concerned by the Project are :
BlackBerry JDE 4.0.2/samples/com/rim/samples/device/tictactoe
BlackBerry JDE 4.0.2/samples/com/rim/samples/device/resource

Do you have an idea?

Thierry
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.