BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2005, 04:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Model: 7290
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool Building error HelloWorld

Please Login to Remove!

Hello,
I'm a beginner in BB programming, and it seams difficult to build the HelloWorld code.
I first locate in the PATH the javac.exe, which was making the first error.

Now I have the following message. Is that really due to the missing Border.Class?

An exception has occurred in the compiler (1.5.0_04). Please file a bug at the Java Developer Connection (http://java.sun.com/webapps/bugreport) after checking the Bug Parade for duplicates. Include your program and the following diagnostic in your report. Thank you.
com.sun.tools.javac.code.Symbol$CompletionFailure: file net\rim\device\internal\ui\Border.class not found
Error!: Error: java compiler failed: javac -source 1.3 -target 1.1 -g -O -d D:\DOCUME~1\tb\LOCALS~1\Temp\rapc_258679e9.dir -bootclasspat ...
Error while building project

If anyone can help, thanks in advance

Thierry
Offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 04:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Model: 7100
Posts: 19
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try removing java 1.5 and installing 1.4 instead. The BB JDE gets cranky with 1.5.
Offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 10:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Model: 7290
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Many Thanks

It works !
Thanks a lot, but I think this was just the beginning of my travel in hell to program with BB. It doesn't seems to be trivial.

Thierry
Offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Model: 7100
Posts: 19
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it has it's own precious "please kill me with a shovel" moments but it's way more pleasant to develop for than most handheld devices

Java makes it all a lot sweeter
Offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 03:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Model: 7290
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 17
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question It carry one

I must admit, I'm not an expert in Java dev. I'm more familar with PHP/MySQL et HTML, excuse me for that but Also VB, and some C. That's probably on of the reasons for these troubles. I have to get used to the system.

Now I have troubles to install the program on the BlackBerry (7290). Any application I install claim for Missing Ressource when I launch it. For example, if I install TicTacToe, the message is:
"com.rim.samples.device.ressource.TicTacTeoRes ".

I looked at the .alx file as said in the manual, but even if I ask the IDE to create it, it doesn't look ok.

<loader version="1.0">
<application id="com_rim_tictactoe">
<name >
Tic Tac Toe Sample
</name>
<description >

</description>
<version >
0.9
</version>
<vendor >
Research In Motion Ltd.
</vendor>
<copyright >
Copyright (c) 2005 Research In Motion Ltd.
</copyright>
<fileset Java="1.17">
<directory >
</directory>
<files >
com_rim_tictactoe.cod
</files>
</fileset>
</application>
</loader>

Knowing that my Workspace is :
BlackBerry JDE 4.0.2/samples/MyTest.jdw

The Folders concerned by the Project are :
BlackBerry JDE 4.0.2/samples/com/rim/samples/device/tictactoe
BlackBerry JDE 4.0.2/samples/com/rim/samples/device/resource

Do you have an idea?

Thierry
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.